We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

Save Saved
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stovepipe Wells Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is a real surprise. About 25 miles from Death Valley National Park Visitors Centre and Furnace Creek but perfectly located for our 3 days and 2 nights exploring the national park. All facilities are in one location including general store with gas station, gift shop, saloon, restaurant, rec area and pool open until midnight. On offer is all you need at the end of an active day. I suggest in this location you book a room that includes refrigerator and TV, not in all rooms. Rooms are spacious but don't bother paying more for a room with a view, you walk outside for that. Aircon is noisy (needs upgrade) but ceiling fan was perfectly adequate for a quiet night's sleep. Everything clean and modern. Plenty of parking and friendly staff. Wifi in rec area fair at best. Great place and good value. Given you are hostage to restaurant, it is fairly priced and reasonable value for meals, as is breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    316
    169
    57
    17
See reviews for
159
359
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on road trip round West US. The room could not be described as luxurious but it was clean, comfortable and had every amenity needed including a coffee maker which is something we didn't get in Vegas. The toiletries were really special too. The air conditioning was effective if a little noisy; as it was 50 degrees outside we were just grateful it was there. Happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 5/31-6/02 in the Stovepipe Wells Village. The people were super friendly. The people the gift shop, general store, bar and restaurant all chatted with us and remembered us from one day to the next. The bartender poured great drinks and let me sample the tap beer to see which one I prefered. The food at the restaurant was high priced but the portions were large. They had buffet breakfast, lunch is served in the bar then the restaurant opens for dinner again. We got a deluxe room and it had a nice flat screen and the ac kept the room at 75º without any problems. That was good because it was 113º outside. Parking was right outside the front door. The room had a back door with a little patio so you could put a folding chair out there and enjoy the sunrise if you wanted to. There was a mini fridge in the room that kept stuff cold. They put 2 bottles of water in the room and gave us a coupon for a bag of ice at the general store. The coffee in the room wasn't very good. They have slow wireless internet in the lounge and bar plus there are 2 computers to use in the lounge. There is a pool open late and that is nice when it is so hot. The website had a 25% off code so the room rate was a lot cheaper than Furnace Creek. The gas is expensive but 50 cents to a dollar a gallon less than the other 2 places to get gas in the park.

Room Tip: Deluxe room for tv and mini fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room was nice and simple, and the facilities are very well maintained. One of the coolest things about this resort is that the pool is open really late. We stayed in room 4 which is in this little courtyard which had a small table and was in range of the wifi. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. The ONLY complaint I have is that the internet is painfully slow and the food in the restaurant is inconsistent.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are the best. They are closest to everything and you get an outside table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Your options for lodging in Death Valley are very limited, but Stovepipe Wells is a solid, affordable option. We only stayed here for one night, but our room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable, and the A/C was not noisy. You get a free bag of ice with your room, which was very nice since we had a small cooler for our car. We didn't use the pool or anything, but the general store was a great, although everything was over priced. But they had cold beer and sandwiches, so we were happy.

If you're staying in August, be sure to book in advance. We were on a road trip and pre-planned everything months in advance, but when we checked in, there were a few European tourists trying to find a room and everything was booked, even at Furnace Creek.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My partner and I were traveling from Australia. We decided to stay here over furnace creek as it was a little cheaper. We booked a smaller room, but were pleasantly surprised to get the deluxe room with two beds and a tv. The room was spotlessly clean, the beds very comfortable and the aircon great. It was 47C and stinking hot.

I totally agree with the previous reviewer.

Restaurant on site. Staff very friendly. Same for general store. Limited food options, but great facilities. You are in the middle of the desert so what do you expect.


Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Death Valley. The weather was stinking hot and it is literally in the middle of nowhere.

This place is a gem. We had a king deluxe room- it was spacious and the room is kept cool. Aircon works perfectly for the weather outside. The bed is comfortable. They have one of the best pillows we have slept on in American motels.

There is a grocery store across the road, fuel and a restaurant on site. If you don't plan to eat at the restaurant here, be sure to bring food with you as there is literally nothing here!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.