We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't Great - an overpriced motel with poor facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stovepipe Wells Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wasn't Great - an overpriced motel with poor facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked this whilst we were travelling and believe we paid too much for too little. The room was basic with basic amenities. Without enough towels or coffee for our party although we were charged $10 each over two people. We asked for extra towels and these were brought. The air-conditioning unit battled loudly all night against the heater that wouldn't fully switch off. The bathroom door was a struggle to close. Which isn't helpful when you are sharing with others.

We wanted to call our friends to advise we weren't coming back that evening but had no signal on the mobile. There was public phone we were told. This was in a dark corner with no light so you couldn't see the numbers. We thought that because we were from a different country was the reason we couldn't manage to get it to work or accept the coins we were trying to feed it. But no when we eventually got a staff member to assist - they couldn't get it to work either. We eventually managed to make a collect call to put our friends minds at rest.

We tried the pool which isn't overly large but is nice and deep. But be warned it's not heated. Probably not an issue in the middle of summer but a cool March evening would have benefited from being a little less cool. But even so its probably the best feature here.

We ate in the restaurant as there was no other option. The food was plentiful if limited in choice and poorly executed. Except the bread pudding which was good. I think the rest was out of packets and reheated or fried. What the serving staff lost in expertise they made up for in enthusiasm. It was like the local women's club had decided to become waitresses for the night.

After dinner we thought we would try out the bar. There was hardly anyone in but us and shortly just us, the barman and a local I think. I could see why. Service was speedy but anonymous. We tried to strike up a conversation but it was a bit one sided. Shame as it was a nicely appointed bar with an interesting array of drinks including some strange sounding beers that my partner would quite easily have been encouraged to sample. In fact he was willing this to happen but we had the one drink and thought we could have a one way conversation admiring nature and had get more interaction.

It was a shame that such a glorious setting had this poor and uninspiring motel as the only room in town.

Room Tip: not sure there is one - unless the deluxe rooms are of much better quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    356
    186
    60
    18
See reviews for
181
397
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a long drive through the uncompromising beauty of a desert landscape we received a warm welcome at Stovepipe Wells Village. Our room was spacious, well maintained and scrupulously clean. It faced out onto undulating golden dunes in the distance and ancient folded mountains warmed by the setting sun. The accommodationn is unpretentious with hairdryer and coffee maker, a small refrigerator, a television ( which we did not turn on!) and very good shower for quick showering in fossil water. We experienced a high standard of service by the friendly and very accommodating staff. Food in the restaurant is excellent – great selection of dishes and fresh salads and vegetables despite the logistics of getting fresh produce across long distances and the remote location of the village. The village shop is well stocked with reasonably priced souvenirs and a small selection of food and beverages, and the staff on duty are friendly and helpful. Stamps can be bought and letters and post cards posted - another thoughtful gesture. An enormous pool offers refreshment after a long drive. Due to the remote location, mobile reception and wi fi are not good – but we managed without our addictions to instant availability and it felt so good to be literally “out of touch” and “unavailable”. The owners have made modifications to the exiting lighting, but we would have preferred to see the velvety starry skies with ground level lighting perhaps concealed in fibre glass rocks to minimise light pollution. The air conditioners rattle and grown all night long from neighbouring bedrooms which makes sleeping with windows open at night very noisy – high energy consumption in this environmentally delicate area – perhaps guests could minimise their use of the air conditioners in the cooler weather. We liked the attempt at recycling human waste and noted that the well-sealed bins were regularly emptied and cleaned to deter hardy desert rodents.
Highly recommended for a stop over or a longer stay. Good value for money and a fabulous place to experience the fragile beauty of the desert in great comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was pretty impressed with Stovepipe. Often when there aren't many choices in a destination, places can get sloppy. I didn't find that here. The basic room I got was small but clearly updated and clean. It was no nonsense but definitely did not feel worn or dingy in any way, it was perfect for me. No tv or closet but for a one night stay it did what I needed it to. they had some cool decor also with great death valley photographs and pages from old publications.

The restaurant is decent and although service was a little slow, I went on a shoulder season on a Monday and they were clearly slammed, probably not expecting the big crowd that night. Service was still polite, they got me what I needed, and the food was decent.

The Badwater Saloon has a pretty impressive beer selection for such an outpost. The bartender was friendly, helpful, and did a great job. They also seemed to have a lot of tequilas.

There are also gift shops and helpful folks at the front desk.

If you're looking for a clean crash pad to get some food and clean up after a day of hiking around in the heat, I think you'll like this spot. I was Travelling alone and had a very full day rolling in there, so I found it to be a prefect spot before taking off early the next morning.

Also a travel note... They said it would be loud at night because a sand storm was raging, however I usually sleep with ear plugs so it didn't bother me a bit.

Room Tip: They have an explicit website which explains the types of rooms and who they are suited for. I foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have that many choices for lodging in Death Valley NP and as we did not want to camp and Furnace Creek was too expensive for us, we decided to stay at Stovepipe Wells Village. You get a simple room (bed, table, bathroom) in a motel-style complex with a shop, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The rooms seem to be pretty old and they do not do much to really keep it up-to-date. Besides that it is not very clean either. For the money we paid, you would normally expect more, but as you are in the middle of nowhere you have to take what you can get. Very nice for us was the terrace you have in front of each room (a table and some chairs). You can sit there in the evening, enjoy the evening sun and see the great sunset in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Basic motel with friendly staff. You're paying for the location. Better value than the ranch at Furnace Creek. The room was clean, etc. We liked the timer in the shower to encourage you to take shorter showers! The restaurant was ok: food was fine, service variable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights, end of march/begining of april.
The thing to know is that the rooms are pretty simple. But I found our comfortable, clean and quiet at night. Well, after all you're in the desert!
The location is fine to discover the Vallley and all the interesting viewpoints.
The pool is really a good ideia to refresh after a hot day! So is the bar, well, the saloon (very funny for a stranger like me).
At night the restaurant serves one of the best burger I've ever had. And for dessert, the hot cookies with a vanilla ice-cream was a pure delight. Big breakfast to start well the day
I liked it. Unpretencious, nice service, good location. Would recomend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Death valley isn't cheap to sleep in unless you stay here or have an RV you can hook up as furnace Creek is pricey and panamint springs is miles away from most of the attractions. Its a basic motel but clean and all the staff were friendly helpful and attentive. Room was basic and a little dated but serves its purpose as a place to crash after a hot day exploring death valley. Pool looks nice but was late when we arrived. Bar was quiet but served cider which is nearly impossible to find outside of an irish bar in nevada and callifornia so gets a gold star for that alone. Dinner was amazing and well priced-one of our cheapest but tastiest meals of road trip.lots of film memorabilia on restaurant walls from films filmed in DV. Breakfast average but lots of choice. Shop is well stocked and gives motel guests a free bag of ice and has cheaper gas than furnace Creek. All in all we really liked our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2*
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list