We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple rooms in the middle of the valley” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel to your Saves list
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple rooms in the middle of the valley”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have that many choices for lodging in Death Valley NP and as we did not want to camp and Furnace Creek was too expensive for us, we decided to stay at Stovepipe Wells Village. You get a simple room (bed, table, bathroom) in a motel-style complex with a shop, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The rooms seem to be pretty old and they do not do much to really keep it up-to-date. Besides that it is not very clean either. For the money we paid, you would normally expect more, but as you are in the middle of nowhere you have to take what you can get. Very nice for us was the terrace you have in front of each room (a table and some chairs). You can sit there in the evening, enjoy the evening sun and see the great sunset in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Basic motel with friendly staff. You're paying for the location. Better value than the ranch at Furnace Creek. The room was clean, etc. We liked the timer in the shower to encourage you to take shorter showers! The restaurant was ok: food was fine, service variable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank js_from_San_Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights, end of march/begining of april.
The thing to know is that the rooms are pretty simple. But I found our comfortable, clean and quiet at night. Well, after all you're in the desert!
The location is fine to discover the Vallley and all the interesting viewpoints.
The pool is really a good ideia to refresh after a hot day! So is the bar, well, the saloon (very funny for a stranger like me).
At night the restaurant serves one of the best burger I've ever had. And for dessert, the hot cookies with a vanilla ice-cream was a pure delight. Big breakfast to start well the day
I liked it. Unpretencious, nice service, good location. Would recomend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Death valley isn't cheap to sleep in unless you stay here or have an RV you can hook up as furnace Creek is pricey and panamint springs is miles away from most of the attractions. Its a basic motel but clean and all the staff were friendly helpful and attentive. Room was basic and a little dated but serves its purpose as a place to crash after a hot day exploring death valley. Pool looks nice but was late when we arrived. Bar was quiet but served cider which is nearly impossible to find outside of an irish bar in nevada and callifornia so gets a gold star for that alone. Dinner was amazing and well priced-one of our cheapest but tastiest meals of road trip.lots of film memorabilia on restaurant walls from films filmed in DV. Breakfast average but lots of choice. Shop is well stocked and gives motel guests a free bag of ice and has cheaper gas than furnace Creek. All in all we really liked our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenback56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The last time I visited Death Valley I stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. Although the hotel was nicer than the Stovepipe Hotel, I opted to stay at the latter because of its close proximity to the Mesquite Dunes. I did not regret my choice.

The hotel is clean, has a fridge, coffee maker and TV. I also really enjoyed the quality and scent of the shampoo, and lotion provided by the hotel. They have dispensers for the shampoo and lotion rather than small bottles usually given at hotels, which I really liked. The gift shop had nice souvenirs, and the worker (Karen) was extremely friendly and helpful.

The service at the restaurant was good, a huge improvement from the last time I ate there. I ordered a salad and it was very watery, with very few beans. I didn't enjoy it. My friend ordered a veggie burger, which she said she really enjoyed. Perhaps I will try that next time. The margaritas were weak and cost $8, which I thought was really outrageous.

The pool was decent, and clean. There was a worker checking the water while I was there.

I must say that what really sets this place apart from the other hotels is the location. Watching the dunes at sunset is an absolute MUST. They are so close to the hotel that you can go at sunset and sunrise without having to drive more than 4 minutes. I also went stargazing in the parking lot of of the Mesquite Dunes area.

If you are looking for a great location to be in, stay here. I paid $146.00 for my double room bed (20% spring special).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_p925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here years ago, and the place does seem a bit improved; fresh, nice linens, better bathroom; now boasts a nice bar with great draft beer selection for after that hike on the dunes. Speaking of which, although the Furnace Creek places are nicer, this is the must stay for photographers, needing to be out on the dunes at sunrise/sunset.
That said, it's overpriced, and staying here is all about the beautiful Death Valley National Park; the motel is just average.

Room Tip: Get a standard or basic room if you don't need TV; much quieter (neighbors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is nothing luxurious about Stovepipe, but it is more than adequate - it's clean, well serviced and the bed was comfortable. The dining room operates during reasonable hours, and a bar is attached, whereby late night snacks can be ordered. The breakfast buffet is worth the extra few dollars...

Drink water. Lots of it. There is a great General Store across from the hotel, if you leave anything behind.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.. Death Valley is a magnificent park, one I hope to return to at another time. The Mesquite Dunes make the journey worth every second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 4,292 reviews
89.2 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
45.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located right in Death Valley National Park is the ultimate destination for adventure travelers. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village, with its unique hotel, Death Valley restaurant and Western saloon, has been at the end of the trail for vacationers since 1926. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells hotels in Death Valley is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing