We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple rooms in the middle of the valley” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stovepipe Wells Village
Save Saved
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple rooms in the middle of the valley”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have that many choices for lodging in Death Valley NP and as we did not want to camp and Furnace Creek was too expensive for us, we decided to stay at Stovepipe Wells Village. You get a simple room (bed, table, bathroom) in a motel-style complex with a shop, a restaurant, a bar and a pool. The rooms seem to be pretty old and they do not do much to really keep it up-to-date. Besides that it is not very clean either. For the money we paid, you would normally expect more, but as you are in the middle of nowhere you have to take what you can get. Very nice for us was the terrace you have in front of each room (a table and some chairs). You can sit there in the evening, enjoy the evening sun and see the great sunset in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    375
    194
    62
    18
See reviews for
193
409
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Basic motel with friendly staff. You're paying for the location. Better value than the ranch at Furnace Creek. The room was clean, etc. We liked the timer in the shower to encourage you to take shorter showers! The restaurant was ok: food was fine, service variable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights, end of march/begining of april.
The thing to know is that the rooms are pretty simple. But I found our comfortable, clean and quiet at night. Well, after all you're in the desert!
The location is fine to discover the Vallley and all the interesting viewpoints.
The pool is really a good ideia to refresh after a hot day! So is the bar, well, the saloon (very funny for a stranger like me).
At night the restaurant serves one of the best burger I've ever had. And for dessert, the hot cookies with a vanilla ice-cream was a pure delight. Big breakfast to start well the day
I liked it. Unpretencious, nice service, good location. Would recomend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Death valley isn't cheap to sleep in unless you stay here or have an RV you can hook up as furnace Creek is pricey and panamint springs is miles away from most of the attractions. Its a basic motel but clean and all the staff were friendly helpful and attentive. Room was basic and a little dated but serves its purpose as a place to crash after a hot day exploring death valley. Pool looks nice but was late when we arrived. Bar was quiet but served cider which is nearly impossible to find outside of an irish bar in nevada and callifornia so gets a gold star for that alone. Dinner was amazing and well priced-one of our cheapest but tastiest meals of road trip.lots of film memorabilia on restaurant walls from films filmed in DV. Breakfast average but lots of choice. Shop is well stocked and gives motel guests a free bag of ice and has cheaper gas than furnace Creek. All in all we really liked our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The last time I visited Death Valley I stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. Although the hotel was nicer than the Stovepipe Hotel, I opted to stay at the latter because of its close proximity to the Mesquite Dunes. I did not regret my choice.

The hotel is clean, has a fridge, coffee maker and TV. I also really enjoyed the quality and scent of the shampoo, and lotion provided by the hotel. They have dispensers for the shampoo and lotion rather than small bottles usually given at hotels, which I really liked. The gift shop had nice souvenirs, and the worker (Karen) was extremely friendly and helpful.

The service at the restaurant was good, a huge improvement from the last time I ate there. I ordered a salad and it was very watery, with very few beans. I didn't enjoy it. My friend ordered a veggie burger, which she said she really enjoyed. Perhaps I will try that next time. The margaritas were weak and cost $8, which I thought was really outrageous.

The pool was decent, and clean. There was a worker checking the water while I was there.

I must say that what really sets this place apart from the other hotels is the location. Watching the dunes at sunset is an absolute MUST. They are so close to the hotel that you can go at sunset and sunrise without having to drive more than 4 minutes. I also went stargazing in the parking lot of of the Mesquite Dunes area.

If you are looking for a great location to be in, stay here. I paid $146.00 for my double room bed (20% spring special).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here years ago, and the place does seem a bit improved; fresh, nice linens, better bathroom; now boasts a nice bar with great draft beer selection for after that hike on the dunes. Speaking of which, although the Furnace Creek places are nicer, this is the must stay for photographers, needing to be out on the dunes at sunrise/sunset.
That said, it's overpriced, and staying here is all about the beautiful Death Valley National Park; the motel is just average.

Room Tip: Get a standard or basic room if you don't need TV; much quieter (neighbors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is nothing luxurious about Stovepipe, but it is more than adequate - it's clean, well serviced and the bed was comfortable. The dining room operates during reasonable hours, and a bar is attached, whereby late night snacks can be ordered. The breakfast buffet is worth the extra few dollars...

Drink water. Lots of it. There is a great General Store across from the hotel, if you leave anything behind.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.. Death Valley is a magnificent park, one I hope to return to at another time. The Mesquite Dunes make the journey worth every second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2*
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.