We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but well priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel to your Saves list
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Basic but well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Death valley isn't cheap to sleep in unless you stay here or have an RV you can hook up as furnace Creek is pricey and panamint springs is miles away from most of the attractions. Its a basic motel but clean and all the staff were friendly helpful and attentive. Room was basic and a little dated but serves its purpose as a place to crash after a hot day exploring death valley. Pool looks nice but was late when we arrived. Bar was quiet but served cider which is nearly impossible to find outside of an irish bar in nevada and callifornia so gets a gold star for that alone. Dinner was amazing and well priced-one of our cheapest but tastiest meals of road trip.lots of film memorabilia on restaurant walls from films filmed in DV. Breakfast average but lots of choice. Shop is well stocked and gives motel guests a free bag of ice and has cheaper gas than furnace Creek. All in all we really liked our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenback56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The last time I visited Death Valley I stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. Although the hotel was nicer than the Stovepipe Hotel, I opted to stay at the latter because of its close proximity to the Mesquite Dunes. I did not regret my choice.

The hotel is clean, has a fridge, coffee maker and TV. I also really enjoyed the quality and scent of the shampoo, and lotion provided by the hotel. They have dispensers for the shampoo and lotion rather than small bottles usually given at hotels, which I really liked. The gift shop had nice souvenirs, and the worker (Karen) was extremely friendly and helpful.

The service at the restaurant was good, a huge improvement from the last time I ate there. I ordered a salad and it was very watery, with very few beans. I didn't enjoy it. My friend ordered a veggie burger, which she said she really enjoyed. Perhaps I will try that next time. The margaritas were weak and cost $8, which I thought was really outrageous.

The pool was decent, and clean. There was a worker checking the water while I was there.

I must say that what really sets this place apart from the other hotels is the location. Watching the dunes at sunset is an absolute MUST. They are so close to the hotel that you can go at sunset and sunrise without having to drive more than 4 minutes. I also went stargazing in the parking lot of of the Mesquite Dunes area.

If you are looking for a great location to be in, stay here. I paid $146.00 for my double room bed (20% spring special).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_p925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here years ago, and the place does seem a bit improved; fresh, nice linens, better bathroom; now boasts a nice bar with great draft beer selection for after that hike on the dunes. Speaking of which, although the Furnace Creek places are nicer, this is the must stay for photographers, needing to be out on the dunes at sunrise/sunset.
That said, it's overpriced, and staying here is all about the beautiful Death Valley National Park; the motel is just average.

Room Tip: Get a standard or basic room if you don't need TV; much quieter (neighbors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is nothing luxurious about Stovepipe, but it is more than adequate - it's clean, well serviced and the bed was comfortable. The dining room operates during reasonable hours, and a bar is attached, whereby late night snacks can be ordered. The breakfast buffet is worth the extra few dollars...

Drink water. Lots of it. There is a great General Store across from the hotel, if you leave anything behind.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.. Death Valley is a magnificent park, one I hope to return to at another time. The Mesquite Dunes make the journey worth every second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For those of you lucky enough to have done the family truckster roadtrips in the 60's and 70's and have stayed in these types of motels, you are in luck. Stovepipe Wells is a complete, modern day incarnation of this experience. The rooms are nicely kept, clean and comfortable but would never be confused with plush or elegant - you can stay at the Furnace Creek Inn if you want that type of experience. At Stovepipe Wells, folks busily ready themselves for their adventure in Death Valley while taking time to enjoy the wondrous views available right from their front door. There's no spa, concierge or bell service. Guests are bbq-ing, sharing some cocktails and just enjoying the camaraderie together that comes with sharing this special experience in Death Valley with their doors open and chairs situated outside. It's very nostalgic and something I haven't seen much of in over 30 years.

The food in their restaurant is very good, and the prices are fair, considering the overhead needed to run this place so far from the rest of humanity. Most of the staff appear to be retirees, but are very energetic, attentive and understand their customers' needs. There's a very popular swimming pool and ping pong table along with a lounge with a couple of PC's and modest wifi service. I will warn you that cell and internet service in Death Valley will be scarce and unreliable so come prepared to be unwired for a few days and enjoy the natural beauty in peace.

Don't miss the giant sand dunes just East of Stovepipe Wells. They're terrific fun and are one of the many unique features of this special place. I'll add that if you want the full resort experience with cell, wifi, giant gift shop, bike rentals (and crowds) then stay at the Furnace Creek resort instead - it'll be more your style. But if you like (and miss) this old fashioned traveler motel experience, then don't miss Stovepipe Wells.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Roadrunner building - it was facing the sand dunes and got a great early am sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR182Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our first time here and we were not disappointed. Despite the large size of the resort, it is well laid out and we had a quiet room. Standard room is not large, but adequate; clean, comfortable, good lighting, ceiling fan plus AC. Bathroom has sink, not vanity, so no counter space (used top of toilet). They really should add several shelves. Shower over tub with good spray head; all products in handy dispensers. Thick towels. Heads up about restaurant: bring reading material as wait can be long.

Room Tip: Rooms in Cottonwood building face north; we had an end room, #51.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our second visit to Stovepipe Wells. Our first visit several years ago was not so great - the room was a bit run down and there were almost no amenities. This stay was much better with newly renovated rooms, freshly painted, carpeted, and furnished and there was nice artwork on the walls. We stayed in Room #7, facing the courtyard - a small room, about $100 per night. The room had a double bed (with a bright red Navajo blanket), desk, one night table, ceiling fan, air conditioner, alarm clock, coffeemaker, iron/board, hairdryer, toiletries and a large shower. Second suitcase had to go on the floor as there was only one luggage rack. Outside the room on the patio were a small table and chairs. The window had a privacy screen so even though it faced the courtyard, there were no issues. We could get wi-fi in our room as we were close to the lounge. Coffee is available in the lounge starting at 5:30 am. No breakfast is included but there is a restaurant, but we didn't go there. Right across the street is a general store, gas station and a ranger station. The general store has lots of supplies at reasonable prices. Sandwiches and breakfast pastries are available. The hotel gives you a coupon for a free bag of ice. Prices here are less than the prices at the general store in Furnace Creek. The gas prices are a bit higher than outside the park, but not outrageous. The Sand Dunes are a bit of a walk away, but a short drive. Mosaic Canyon is nearby and a pleasant hike with interesting rock formations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 4,284 reviews
89.2 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
45.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located right in Death Valley National Park is the ultimate destination for adventure travelers. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village, with its unique hotel, Death Valley restaurant and Western saloon, has been at the end of the trail for vacationers since 1926. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells hotels in Death Valley is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing