We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel, Superb location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stovepipe Wells Village
Save Saved
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel, Superb location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The last time I visited Death Valley I stayed at the Furnace Creek Inn. Although the hotel was nicer than the Stovepipe Hotel, I opted to stay at the latter because of its close proximity to the Mesquite Dunes. I did not regret my choice.

The hotel is clean, has a fridge, coffee maker and TV. I also really enjoyed the quality and scent of the shampoo, and lotion provided by the hotel. They have dispensers for the shampoo and lotion rather than small bottles usually given at hotels, which I really liked. The gift shop had nice souvenirs, and the worker (Karen) was extremely friendly and helpful.

The service at the restaurant was good, a huge improvement from the last time I ate there. I ordered a salad and it was very watery, with very few beans. I didn't enjoy it. My friend ordered a veggie burger, which she said she really enjoyed. Perhaps I will try that next time. The margaritas were weak and cost $8, which I thought was really outrageous.

The pool was decent, and clean. There was a worker checking the water while I was there.

I must say that what really sets this place apart from the other hotels is the location. Watching the dunes at sunset is an absolute MUST. They are so close to the hotel that you can go at sunset and sunrise without having to drive more than 4 minutes. I also went stargazing in the parking lot of of the Mesquite Dunes area.

If you are looking for a great location to be in, stay here. I paid $146.00 for my double room bed (20% spring special).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    380
    200
    65
    19
See reviews for
196
418
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here years ago, and the place does seem a bit improved; fresh, nice linens, better bathroom; now boasts a nice bar with great draft beer selection for after that hike on the dunes. Speaking of which, although the Furnace Creek places are nicer, this is the must stay for photographers, needing to be out on the dunes at sunrise/sunset.
That said, it's overpriced, and staying here is all about the beautiful Death Valley National Park; the motel is just average.

Room Tip: Get a standard or basic room if you don't need TV; much quieter (neighbors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is nothing luxurious about Stovepipe, but it is more than adequate - it's clean, well serviced and the bed was comfortable. The dining room operates during reasonable hours, and a bar is attached, whereby late night snacks can be ordered. The breakfast buffet is worth the extra few dollars...

Drink water. Lots of it. There is a great General Store across from the hotel, if you leave anything behind.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.. Death Valley is a magnificent park, one I hope to return to at another time. The Mesquite Dunes make the journey worth every second.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For those of you lucky enough to have done the family truckster roadtrips in the 60's and 70's and have stayed in these types of motels, you are in luck. Stovepipe Wells is a complete, modern day incarnation of this experience. The rooms are nicely kept, clean and comfortable but would never be confused with plush or elegant - you can stay at the Furnace Creek Inn if you want that type of experience. At Stovepipe Wells, folks busily ready themselves for their adventure in Death Valley while taking time to enjoy the wondrous views available right from their front door. There's no spa, concierge or bell service. Guests are bbq-ing, sharing some cocktails and just enjoying the camaraderie together that comes with sharing this special experience in Death Valley with their doors open and chairs situated outside. It's very nostalgic and something I haven't seen much of in over 30 years.

The food in their restaurant is very good, and the prices are fair, considering the overhead needed to run this place so far from the rest of humanity. Most of the staff appear to be retirees, but are very energetic, attentive and understand their customers' needs. There's a very popular swimming pool and ping pong table along with a lounge with a couple of PC's and modest wifi service. I will warn you that cell and internet service in Death Valley will be scarce and unreliable so come prepared to be unwired for a few days and enjoy the natural beauty in peace.

Don't miss the giant sand dunes just East of Stovepipe Wells. They're terrific fun and are one of the many unique features of this special place. I'll add that if you want the full resort experience with cell, wifi, giant gift shop, bike rentals (and crowds) then stay at the Furnace Creek resort instead - it'll be more your style. But if you like (and miss) this old fashioned traveler motel experience, then don't miss Stovepipe Wells.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Roadrunner building - it was facing the sand dunes and got a great early am sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our first time here and we were not disappointed. Despite the large size of the resort, it is well laid out and we had a quiet room. Standard room is not large, but adequate; clean, comfortable, good lighting, ceiling fan plus AC. Bathroom has sink, not vanity, so no counter space (used top of toilet). They really should add several shelves. Shower over tub with good spray head; all products in handy dispensers. Thick towels. Heads up about restaurant: bring reading material as wait can be long.

Room Tip: Rooms in Cottonwood building face north; we had an end room, #51.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our second visit to Stovepipe Wells. Our first visit several years ago was not so great - the room was a bit run down and there were almost no amenities. This stay was much better with newly renovated rooms, freshly painted, carpeted, and furnished and there was nice artwork on the walls. We stayed in Room #7, facing the courtyard - a small room, about $100 per night. The room had a double bed (with a bright red Navajo blanket), desk, one night table, ceiling fan, air conditioner, alarm clock, coffeemaker, iron/board, hairdryer, toiletries and a large shower. Second suitcase had to go on the floor as there was only one luggage rack. Outside the room on the patio were a small table and chairs. The window had a privacy screen so even though it faced the courtyard, there were no issues. We could get wi-fi in our room as we were close to the lounge. Coffee is available in the lounge starting at 5:30 am. No breakfast is included but there is a restaurant, but we didn't go there. Right across the street is a general store, gas station and a ranger station. The general store has lots of supplies at reasonable prices. Sandwiches and breakfast pastries are available. The hotel gives you a coupon for a free bag of ice. Prices here are less than the prices at the general store in Furnace Creek. The gas prices are a bit higher than outside the park, but not outrageous. The Sand Dunes are a bit of a walk away, but a short drive. Mosaic Canyon is nearby and a pleasant hike with interesting rock formations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Sparse lodging options in Death Valley coupled with the popularity of this great national park means that lodging operators do not have to make any substantial effort to earn repeat business. The endless stream of unique "bucket list" visitors creates a dynamic wherein $200 gets you a very tired room with two queen beds and you initially feel lucky to snag it. Our "luck" gave way to epic disappointment in what became the night from hell as we were tortured all twilight by the a/c compressor loudly beating itself to death. Weary as we all were, the unbelievable racket made any substantial sleep impossible. As bad luck would have it the overhead fan on this hot night was not an option either because the pull chain to turn it on had been removed! We attempted to get another room but they were all booked. Though we laugh about it now it really was a miserable experience. The value comes from waking up centrally located in a place where the attractions are dispersed over a vast area. There is a gas station and general store conveniently located across the street, a gift shop, bar and restaurant are located on the premises. Upon check in coupons are given out for a free bag of ice at the general store, a nice touch. The entrees in the restaurant are pricey but surprisingly tasty with the exception being some of the side dishes. My ribeye was perfect but the green beans were beyond awful. We had cocktails in the saloon where the initially harried bartender came off as surly but displayed better people skills as his workload slowed. Reccomend that visitors to Death Valley also consider RVs, lodging outside the park and camping (weather permitting).

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms flank the main walkway entrance providing minimal privacy. Dune view rooms come at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.