We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thins walls, no heat, rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stovepipe Wells Village to your Saves list
Stovepipe Wells Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thins walls, no heat, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've stayed here before when visiting Death Valley, and found it adequate. But I visited over New Year's, and sorely regretted it. The walls are EXTREMELY thin at Stovepipe Wells, which means you will not only hear the people in the room next to you talking, but you will also hear them snoring, farting, and doing other things you don't want to hear. Maybe that's not a problem in the low season, but when every room is full, you hear people on three sides of you. We had crying babies, slamming doors, arguing, and someone with very loud digestive problems.

The next night, the heat did not work in our room. It was 32 degrees out. When we reported it to the management, they didn't seem to care. IN fact, just about every interaction we had with the management was unpleasant, including at the sub-par restaurant.

This is not what I expect from a hotel when I am paying $150 a night.

We wandered over to Furnace Creek later in the day, where we found the food to be better, the location to be better, and the staff to be much, much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    412
    222
    71
    20
See reviews for
202
453
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good value, good food, good beds and air con in rooms.
We checked in late and our rooms were ready and food was still being served.
There wasn't a TV in the room but this didn't bother us as we didn't go to Death Valley to watch TV!
The sand-dunes are just a 5 minute drive and well worth a visit..we when in the evening as much cooler!
A simple but lovely motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The room was pleasant and large, they are dog friendly. The walls are very thin, and the neighbours had a baby who cried starting very early in the morning. There was nowhere to take a simple morning hike from the room, and the campground across the highway was a barren parking lot. We ate at the restaurant, while the staff was friendly the food was TERRIBLE! The bar itself looked like fun.
I suggest driving to Beatty where to hotel rooms are just as good for 1/3 the price, and the restaurants know how to serve a great meal!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We loved the quiet Stovepipe Wells area, where we stayed 4 nights in the 49er building. Our window was East-facing, giving us a wonderful view as early morning sunlight flooded the valley. Like most national park lodges, the motel is somewhat Spartan, but it was squeaky clean, spacious, and comfortable. Though we did not turn on the TV during our stay, the 49er and one other building feature flat screen TVs. We were glad we'd chosen this location rather than the much busier Furnace Creek area, though we did go to Furnace Creek to use the laundromat (reasonable charges: $1 for washers and 25 cents for each drying cycle).

Stovepipe Wells features a comfortable lounge next to the gift shop and a tiny library, where guests can exchange one book for another. The gift shop and the store stay open late hours, and gas is cheaper here than at Furnace Creek.

Check-in and check-out were efficient; and all employees (desk clerks, store operators, wait staff, and housekeepers) went out of their way to be helpful.

The dining room and lounge (where lunch is served) seemed understaffed, and the food was just average--but better than what we had at the Furnace Creek cafe. I'd recommend cereal in the room over the rather expensive and limited breakfast buffet--but the wait staff scurried around and seemed to be trying their best.

Room Tip: 49er or Roadrunner buildings for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our room was nice and clean with lots of space. We were very comfortable. The front desk is open 24 hours (holds/charges for the room) so we did not have to worry about checking in late. The area has a gas station, general store, restaurant/bar and pool area. It is only minutes away from Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes and Mosaic Canyon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a neat little complex: motel, restaurant, pool, saloon, gift shop, general store, camp ground and gas station. It is probably not as popular or well know as the complex at Furnance Creek, but it is clean and well maintaned with a friendly staff. Very quiet at night and in the morning. Close to the "sand dunes" for sunsets.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have TV's but you really don't need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We arrived late afternoon during a storm, the sky was purple and orange, and the drive there was incredible. We had a great meal at the restaurant, and our room was large and clean. We took a lot of great photos here, it was very scenic. Don't miss the dunes and Rhyolite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.