We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what's there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel to your Saves list
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Willard, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what's there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

$145 bucks for a room with No TV , bad internet, room was just ok. $178 for a room with a TV. Lord what a rip off. Just ridiculous at those prices. Nothing special except the people that work there are nice and they understand it's too pricey. Go 30 miles away to Beatty for a much better price.

Room Tip: Sleep in any room, doesn't really matter at those prices cause you won't get your moneys wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    498
    269
    88
    33
See reviews for
269
549
57
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is an OK hotel in Death Valley. At $149 it is probably one of the cheaper hotels in the National Park. The bathroom could have been cleaner and the air conditioner a little quieter. The flat screen TV, king bed and mini fridge was appreciated. Wifi is slow and intermittent but it is Death Valley. We ate dinner in the bar - tasty and good value. Breakfast is not included and the bar, restaurant does not open until 11.30. The hike in Mosaic Canyon right next to the hotel is worth of effort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front office for better Wifi. Dinner at the Bar is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here in order to get some rest from our long drive from Yosemite. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The from desk were very helpful, the supplied lots of information on local tours and the night sky. The room was basic but clean. It had no tv but that's not an issue.

The bed was nice but the air con was a little noisy. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place for anyone wanting to explore Death Valley and break up a long drive. The small town provides a great opportunity to see the night sky and we got a great look at the Milky Way!

I found the food in the restaurant to the be Achilles heel of this place. I went for the ribs and found them dry, hard and tiny! Something I thought was treasonous in this part of the world. The price was also extortionate in my opinion.

Room Tip: Great to break up a long road trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights while we toured Death Valley. We had a king room with a TV which was clean and a decent size. Stovepipe Wells offers anything you may need - lodging, dining, general store, gas, etc. and it seems to be well run. The saloon was pretty good with a good selection of beer. The food was just okay - not bad, but not great - the saloon itself was nice. There are only a few options for lodging in Death Valley and we were happy with Stovepipe Wells.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stovepipe Wells was our stopover during a two day drive through Death Valley. We stayed in the Panamint block and the room was a good size for a one-nighter, and perfectly clean despite some previous reviews. Bathroom was also good, with dispensers of locally sourced and manufactured shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap and lotion. The beds were comfortable, and the air conditioning worked fine as well. The Television worked fine with a good collection of channels, but remember this motel is in the middle of nowhere and they rely on satellite links for telecommunications. That means the free wifi is very slow. The motel manage your expectations on this, but you are talking a quick check of emails only. If you are on a long trek and booking hotels day by day, remember you will find it difficult browsing tripadvisor from Stovepipe Wells. The Panamint block is on the edge of the village complex and looks out on to the car park which after a few yards plunges into pitch black at night and gives you the opportunity to see the Death Valley starscape at its best.

The complex itself has good long opening hours and consists of a bar, restaurant, gift shop and general store, all of which are well equipped. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is really well stocked and prepped us for the next leg of the journey, while the dinner was really good. The crispy chicken salad fills you up and rehydrates you after a day in the desert. Also, their selection of wines and beers beats some city centre establishments!

The voucher for a fee bag of ice is useful for those travelling in RVs.

The outdoor swimming pool was also very good with ample size and not too much chlorine and perfectly swimmable in November. Open until midnight, you can swim under the stars, as long as you don't mind the growing number of bugs flying around your head!

The staff were really helpful, patient when I forgot my car's license number (again!) and even helping people out with finding alternative accommodation when they are full up. This goes for the reception, restaurant and the general store.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As many have noted, there are not exactly a lot of choices for accommodations in Death Valley. You've got (in order of price) Furnace Creek, Stovepipe Wells and Paramint Springs. We chose Stovepipe Wells because it is in the middle, both price-wise and location-wise. The location is just a few minutes from the Mesquite Dunes, and just a few more minutes to the split to go to Furnace Creek, Artist Drive and Badwater or Scotty's Castle and Ubehebe Crater. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The A/C (as many have mentioned) is indeed noisy, but it's a "white noise" and we got used to it quickly. Our room was cozy and had a fridge. The Wi-Fi was weak and intermittent, but that's not so surprising (you're in Death Valley after all!). The General Store had a friendly staff and all the basic stuff you need to make lunches or grab snacks. There are two restaurants: the Toll Road (breakfast/lunch/dinner) and the Badwater Saloon (lunch/drinks/light suppers). The breakfast buffet was great and not too expensive given the variety ($7 cold / $12 hot). We had a great supper there as well. The Badwater Saloon is reasonably priced (you're in Death Valley, after all!) and the service was friendly. I would definitely recommend it: centrally located in the Park and good value, all things considered.

Room Tip: We were in the Roadrunner building which was away from the road and a little quieter, if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for a night at Stovepipe Wells when travelling as a couple last September.

The typical motel rooms are just about big enough, a bit of a squeeze with two large suitcases. Bathroom was fine.

Everything was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Air conditionning unit was the usual loud standard motel issue, and since it is really just next to the bed some lighter sleepers might have a bit of a hard time.

WIFI seems to be set up, but refuse to work for us be it in the rooms, outside the lobby or in the restaurant.

Check in/out was quick and efficient, and the ice dispenser and pool are obviously nice to have in baking Death Valley.

Overall, serviceable place in the middle of nowhere. That last part would also explain the hefty price tag, which is still lest that down the road a furnace creek.

Room Tip: Didn't try one of the premium dune view rooms. Try and avoid the rooms that are just by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,890 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#2 of 4 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
45.8 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located right in Death Valley National Park is the ultimate destination for adventure travelers. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village, with its unique hotel, Death Valley restaurant and Western saloon, has been at the end of the trail for vacationers since 1926. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells hotels in Death Valley is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.