We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borax Museum

Borax Museum
Hwy. 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
760-786-2345
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum does not just tell the story of borax in the region but the history of Death Valley.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We made this our last stop before heading home and so glad we did. The little museum is packed full of historical artifacts, articles, and tidbits of history. The lady who oversaw the place when we stopped in could not have been more friendly or helpful. It is a geologist dream and has the best display of minerals I’ve seen outside the gem and mineral exhibit at the LA Country Natural History Museum. Grab a map and take a leisurely stroll outside side where there are more than five dozen items of interest on display. We spent about an hour and could have wandered around longer were it not for our long drive home. A must-see, especially if you are staying the Furnace Creek Ranch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It's a small building, and it can get crowded at times

There are several large displays of minerals, some from Death Valley, some from nearby and some from the entire Southwest

The minerals are expertly displayed and labelled, and very well lit

There is a model and some descriptive text detailing the operation of a 20 mule team. The first thing they tell you is that it's actually 2 horses and 18 mules

There are photos and artifacts along with descriptive text telling the story of the early borax mines and the earlier Native Americans

The attendant on duty was helpful and friendly

Outside, there are displays of the borax wagon as well as mining equipment, a steam locomotive and lots of large wheeled carts and wagons

Overall, very nicely done

And yes...the building is air-conditioned

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On one of our trips through Death Valley National Park, we stopped at Furnace Creek for a bite to eat, and toured the Borax Museum. The museum is free and worth a look. It's not very large and won't take long to walk through, however the building itself was originally used as the office and bunk quarters for workers at the Borax Mines. There are lots of artifacts and pictures describing the history, most especially the "Twenty Mule Teams". I enjoy history, so I found this stop very informative and interesting. Just a note, July may not the best time to visit, as it can be very hot.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
320 attraction reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This small museum is located on the premises of Furnace Creek Ranch. An old, authentic building was moved there, housing the small exhibits - which are anything from newspaper articles and old black and white, sepia-tinted photographs to mining tools and equipment. It's a somewhat hodgepodge happy jumble of anything old and authentic someone managed to salvage somewhere and throw it together inside one room, which is also the whole building. So, no, it's not much really, and it's a bit disorganized, but it's interesting and entertaining. The really great part, in my opinion, is the outdoor part behind the building with the old mule barn, the old steam locomotive, the arrastra, the different wagons … we really enjoyed ambling around and taking pictures. It’s worth taking out less than an hour – and since Furnace Creek Ranch is an absolute must stop if you’re crossing death valley – don’t miss this either.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Borax and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stopped into the Borax Museum on the drive through Death Valley. It is a very small museum but you cannot complain as it is free. There were quite a few interesting things to look at, but it does not take long to do the museum.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borax Museum also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Borax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borax Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.