We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY way to enjoy the real beauty of this natural wonder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crater Lake Trolley

Crater Lake Trolley
Crater Lake National Park, OR
(541) 882-1896
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This is a wonderful an new attraction at the lake. LNG powered trolleys built to resemble the old SF trolleys.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to enjoy the real beauty of this natural wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited in August and this was most fortuitous. This is the best summer month to visit when all the viewpoints are at their best. There are 2 approaches to the crater; from the north, open only in the summer, and from the south, year round. The National Park Visitor Center is at the south end. This is where the Trolley departs, circling the rim in a clockwise route, making a 2 hour trip. It is narrated by a National Park Ranger, with several interesting stops to allow for photo opportunities. The trolleys are restored in an elegant manner, and our trolley was in immaculate condition. Cushions are provided for the wooden seats. The elevated seats provide an improved view vantage. The natural gas powered engine allows for a complete al-fresco experience with all windows open and no exhaust fumes. This is better than the boat tour on the lake as it spares you the strenous hike to the boat ramp, and the trolley is covered which provides shelter from the elements. The Rim Road around the crater can be quite treacherous at numerous spots, and if you drive yourself, the driver will miss many wonderful views. This is the best value for an exceptionally enjoyable visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The tour is good, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had booked this tour weeks earlier and were supposed to be picked up in Klamath Falls. No one appeared to take us up to Crater Lake, so we drove there ourselves. When we arrived we went to the tour desk area to find that the tour we signed up for was completely full and they had not listed us. Luckily I had the confirmation letter with us and they finally managed to squeeze us in. Not a great start to a beautiful area tour, but the ranger who went with us was very knowledgeable and made up for the poor start. I suggest you drive to Crater Lake and then go over and book your tour - arrive early enough to get on the tour you want as it takes 2 hours.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nicely Done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy taking my 9 year old aboard this trolley to see the lake. The ranger on board was very informative and entertaining. The trolley makes many stops for views and photo ops. I also liked that the trolley was powered by natural gas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Terrific Trolley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Took the trolley tour around Crater Lake with the Crater Lake Trolley Company. The tour was informative. They have a National Park Ranger on board. It is fun to hear about the history of the lake and all the people who made the National Park possible. They stop at about 4 or 5 sites and tell you about the history, and geology of the lake. Well worth the $25 cost. At the end of the tour, the tour operator took my husband and I back to the Mazama lodge which was greatly appreciated since we had left our car at the Mazama Village. We had picked the Trolley right at Mazama General Store.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amtrak to Crater Lake Trolley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I am writing to report that you can absolutely get to Crater Lake National Park, and without renting a car. I decided, very last minute, I wanted to hop on the Coast Starlight, get out of the Bay area for Labor Day weekend, and finally see the bluest lake in the country. Luckily, after a little bit of research and a call to Amtrak, I learned one could make a "bus" connection at Klamath Falls, Oregon. I arrived in Klamath Falls at 8:30 am and happily learned that the "bus" which was going to take me to Crater Lake at 9:15 am was actually a Trolley Car. It was a fabulous ride, a wonderful driver, and a very green and safe way to travel to the park. The trolley car takes you to the rim of the lake (also where the visitor center, cafe, lodge, and gift shop are located) and from there you can readily gather information on the facilities, various attractions, including trolley tours, boat tours of Wizard Island, various waterfalls, short and long distance hiking, and back country camping.

Since one doesn't need to be an Amtrak customer to catch the Trolley Car from Klamath Falls to Crater Lake I am including additional information for locals who want to get up to the park as well:

www.craterlaketrolley.com

http://www.amtrak.com/servlet/ContentServer?pagename=am/am2Station/Station_Page&code=CLK

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crater Lake Trolley also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Crater Lake Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crater Lake Trolley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crater Lake Trolley to your Saves list