We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Volcano inside a Volcano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizard Island

Wizard Island
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island in Crater Lake.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“A Volcano inside a Volcano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Wizard Island is a volcano inside a volcano! It is a volcanic cinder cone that formed inside the Mount Mazama crater that rises above the surface of the lake and forms an island. It's only accessible via the boat tours through Xanterra. When booking a boat tour, you can optionally add on a side trip to Wizard Island. The boat will drop you off at the dock about half way through the tour and then pick you back up three hours later. From the dock, there are two trails to hike and explore the island. The Wizard Summit Trail is a steep trail that leads up to the summit. It's only about 1 mile up to the top, but gains more than 700 feet in elevation. A series of switchbacks lessen the slope and you will likely be so enthralled by the beautiful scenery from the trail that you won't even notice. The crater at the top of Wizard Island is called Witch's Cauldron, in keeping with the mythological names of park features and the trail makes a loop around the crater. Dead trees line the crater - these trees were killed by dwarf mistletoe, a parasitic plant. The other trail on the island is Fumarole Bay Trail, which leads to the beautiful bay on the west side of the island. This trail isn't too steep, but very rocky and can be difficult to follow. Fumarole Bay is absolutely beautiful, with turquoise water the color of lagoon in Polynesia. If hiking isn't your thing, you can go fishing or swimming in the water near Fumarole Bay. Just be warned, the water is extremely cold - way too cold for me to get in. The boat tours and stops on Wizard Island are only available during the summer - late June to mid September - so be sure to get tickets in advance. This is a can't miss tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    2
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This area was recommended to us as a place not to miss on our holiday from UK to Whistler BC and our subsequent road trip down to Oregon. It is outstanding and with 11" of early snow in September, what we found took us completely by surprise and so with wonderment we explored in totally unsuitable clothing. Not to be put off we stayed in the lodge which was overpriced and basic but unmissable and had very average food which was just about OK. The service was of course excellent, as indeed we found everywhere we travelled in the US and Canada.
But the surrounding beauty was awesome and the winter wonderland scene we encountered was memorable. Don't miss this incredible place!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was a little scary at first. On the boat they told us that there is a radio if we needed help but no phone on the Island and no Ranger. When you get off you have to climb over volcanic rocks for about 50 feet. Then you are on a path where you can go to the summit or Fumarole Bay. We went to the summit and it was an awesome sight!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Must take the boat ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked the boat ride months in advance when I made my hotel reservations and I am glad I did it was sold out by the time we got to the hotel. The ride on the boat is amazing and it is really the only way to see the lake. We did 3 hours on Wizard Island which was plenty. It is very rocky so wear good shoes, and take lots of water, it was very hot when we were there in September and people were running out of water. Also don't under estimate the climb back up to road. Slow and steady is the way to go. You must at least take the boat ride, Wizard Island is a great addition to the trip, but the boat is a must.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
176 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Get Your Tickets Well In Advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was so fortunate to go on this boat ride to Wizard Island in Crater Lake National Park just before their last day (Sep 15th) this past season. We had fun and informative Park Rangers on the boat and we explored Wizard Island for three hours. We saw view of the lake and the crater that would just look like specs from the rim. The hiking around Wizard Island is very dicey with lots of loose volcanic rock around but was an awesome place for hikes and picnic. All of the trees and water views were so worth it. The best part of the boat tour was Devil's Backbone and Phantom Rock.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wizard Island also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Wizard Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizard Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.