We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Your Tickets Well In Advance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizard Island

Wizard Island
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island in Crater Lake.
Larkspur, Colorado
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
176 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Get Your Tickets Well In Advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was so fortunate to go on this boat ride to Wizard Island in Crater Lake National Park just before their last day (Sep 15th) this past season. We had fun and informative Park Rangers on the boat and we explored Wizard Island for three hours. We saw view of the lake and the crater that would just look like specs from the rim. The hiking around Wizard Island is very dicey with lots of loose volcanic rock around but was an awesome place for hikes and picnic. All of the trees and water views were so worth it. The best part of the boat tour was Devil's Backbone and Phantom Rock.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    2
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Trip Worth Taking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Oregon. Crater Lake National Park is truly an amazing place. The only natural phenomenon of it's kind in the world. Your visit is enhanced by staying at the historic lodge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of Life's Wow experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a fantastic boat ride to this incredible island in Oregon's Crater Lake. I spent three hours exploring the Island with a friend after an inspiring hike down the Fleetwood Trail. The geology of this caldera with its stunning blue lake was an spiritual experience I will long remember. The deep blues of this almost 2,000 ft deep lake was beyond description. Highly recommended!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This is essentially a day trip, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Plan a full day. Hike a mile down a trail descending about 750 feet. Then take a 45 minute boat tour to the Wizard Island. You will have 3 hours there to hike to the top, a 750 foot climb and back. Take water and good shoes. The trail can be rough. After the 3 hour pickup you will have more guided boat tour. It was a wonderful experience. Book the boat tour way ahead of travel as space is limited.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It's worth the hike up to the top of the caldera!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

How many people can say they've been inside a caldera (Wizard Island) which is inside another caldera (Crater Lake)? We've come to the lake before but weren't able to score going to the island so this time we planned in advance to be able to get tickets. They limit how many people can go on the island each day so you have to have reservations. It was a bit unclear when the tickets went on sale (we got conflicting stories) so be sure to check by calling. The hike up is pretty strenuous, and you have to have good shoes. The shore by the dock where they let you off is all rock so sandals won't really cut it. We stopped and ate after we got off the boat and then headed up. Watch out for the ground squirrels if you are eating - they've obviously been fed a lot and are AGGRESSIVE little buggers! Going inside the caldera at the top of the island is a bit of a steep decline, but believe it or not the hike out is not that bad if you go up the far side (opposite of the way most people come down, where there's a trail). The views are incredible (of course) and it's really a once-in-a-lifetime experience. If you're brave you can take a dip; the water was darn cold when we were there so only one person in our party did. It's not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wizard Island also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Wizard Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizard Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.