We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eerie beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wizard Island

Wizard Island
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Improve this listing
Type: Islands
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Island in Crater Lake.
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“eerie beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The whole lake is just astounding. Wizard Island in the lake is eerie and the history of formation is very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really looks like the cone (top) of a volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Wizard Island looks like the top of the volcano that blew many years ago. The island looks like it was deposited "nicely" back down to earth. The waters are crystal clear!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wizard Island - book in advance, don't be afraid of the hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We took the boat tour at the very end of August. First, call to book it well in advance. I called a couple months before the trip, and it was for a Monday, and they already did not have any availability for the afternoon tour with the Island time. I booked the morning tour. End of August, it was chilly in the morning, in the low 40s (but when we returned it was already 68), and you are near water (some of it will splash on the passengers, especially first rows on the right - they warn you before taking off). The boat trip to the island takes about 45 minutes, then you spend time there, and then you go around the lake on the way back which takes much longer, and that's the part where you see the most of the lake.
The Cleatwood trail: we are in mid-40 I guess in decent shape, but don't even exercise on a regular basis, plus two boys 9 and 13, made it down in about 15 minutes (maybe 20?), and we did not run. It wasn't hard going up, but a little boring :). It was also a little boring going up the volcano, but the views are so worth it! We stopped at a few overlooks after the boat tour, it's nothing compared to the views from the island (still beautiful). 3 hours on the Island is perfect, 6 would be way too much for just the hike and a picnic.
Even if you don't want to take the boat tour, go down the trail, touch the water. Then you'll be able to say you've visited Crater Lake!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wizard Island tour was a highlight of our road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The main thing my son wanted to see on our 20-day road trip was Crater Lake. Taking the boat tour out to Wizard Island made that so much more memorable. I normally try to avoid touristy things like this, but this was so worth it. Having a near perfect day helped, too. :)

Seeing the caldera from lake level gives a whole different perspective from what you get on the rim and some things you will get to see so much closer, too. You wouldn't think for being as relatively small as the lake is and as fast as the boats go that it would take very long to reach the island but it was something like 40 minutes to the dock.

Once there you can follow one of 2 trails or cruise around off-trail though you'll need good ankles to walk around on the lava rocks if you're staying down low. If you're in decent shape you can summit the cone in 30 minutes. I was surprised by how different this cinder cone is from the one in Lassen Volcanic NP. While they are roughly the same size and take about the same amount of time to summit, Wizard Island was much easier to do so as it is more compacted so you're not sliding down the trail with each step. It's crater is also shallower and easier to descend. There are also a variety of trees, flowers and vegetation while Cinder Cone is essentially just cinders.

Once we were done we took the obligatory jump off the diving rock near the Cleetwood Cove restrooms. There was nobody else there by the time our tour was done and it was fairly breezy but we felt we had to do it. I must say it looks a lot farther down when standing on that rock than what it really is (perhaps your judgment is also clouded by knowing it's going to be pretty cold).

If you really want to experience Crater Lake, you should definitely do a boat tour and if possible reserve one that stops on the island (typically there are 2 per day).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Harsh Hike Down To the Boat - Harsher Back Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Cleatwood Trail that takes you to the edge of the lake - the only trail that will take you down to the lake - is a strenuous hike. It is a mile and a half with a 700 foot drop in elevation. The park is at 6500+ feet above sea level.
On Wizard Island, there are two more hikes of equivalent difficulty to see Crater Lake from a different perspective. Wear shoes you don't mind getting beat up because the island is made from an extinct cinder cone and the whole island is covered in sharp volcanic stone - it is definitely worth it.
I recommend hiking and then going down to the dock and putting your feet in the 48 degree water to cool off. You can even jump in - if you are crazy enough to do it.
When you are heading back, the boat cruise around Crater Lake is informative. When we went, there were many waterfalls due to the snow melt. We saw the disappearing island up close - very cool.
Of course when you return to the bottom of the Cleatwood Trail you have to hike back up - harsh - but plenty of benches to rest on while going back up.
Bring mosquito spray and water. You will need both.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wizard Island also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Wizard Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wizard Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wizard Island to your Saves list