We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good cheese quesedillas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Caverns Restaurant

Carlsbad Caverns Restaurant
727 Carlsbad Caverns Hwy, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM 88220
505 785 2281
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Iowa
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“Very good cheese quesedillas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate lunch here on our recent trip to the caverns. The restaurant is in the visitor's center, next to the gift shop.
They had several items to choose from. The employees stand behind the food counter, and get what hot items you request. You then pay at the registers. I could see this set-up being very time consuming when the restaurant is busy. Fortunately we ate early enough that there was only one other couple in line ahead of us.
I ordered a cheese quesedilla, which was really good. My kids got the cheese quesidilla kids meals, and liked them. My husband got a taco. The kids got juice boxes included in their kids meals, and my husband and I got the fountain drinks (you buy your cup from the cashier when you pay).
I thought the prices a bit high; my quesadilla was almost nine bucks. I expected high prices considering the location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    31
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Surprise at the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the prices of the food and what they had to offer...they use the freshest ingredients and local fare.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Edible Food @ National Park Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Normal food as served by most National Parks. Somewhat overpriced not to much of a selection, but your out in nowhere land, what do you expect.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

You can get very good healthy food there and we really appreciate. You can get unhealthy food too if you like. They also have vegeterian burgers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the food here in the above ground cafeteria. I expected with the captive audience factor that quality would suffer but it was really quite tasty. I had the brisket sandwich one day and the nachos the next day. A little pricey, but worth it for the convenience of not having to go back down the hill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Caverns Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carlsbad Caverns Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Caverns Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.