We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Caverns!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center

Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center
727 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM 88220
575 785 2232
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Attraction Details
Baskin, LA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Caverns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the caverns. I love going into caves and caverns because its like stepping into a time machine and ending up in a different world. So much to see and I am always in awe of God's creations. We took our time to take in all the interesting formations and were able to get some really nice photos. The visitor center was nice and had much to choose from. I felt most of it was highly over priced but we still made a few purchases there simply because if we don't support these wonderful natural sites we may lose the opportunity to experience them. Very enjoyable and fun!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    27
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Indian pottery costs twice as much.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I purchase 2 pieces of indian pottery which I subsequently found elsewhere at half the cost.... very disappointing.
The caverns are awesome, and the staff are really nice and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Astonishing Caves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 8-days on rental car touring all major attractions in the State of New Mexico. The State has best fresh air you can breath, most beautiful and enjoyable highways for you to drive, adding most friendly, relaxing people you can encounter. On top of that, you have got all the natural, cultural, and historical attractions, you wonder why this state couldn't be among the best tour destinations that anyone cares to visit.
Carlsbad Cavern, a vast cave system encompassing 46 thousands acres of underground space with over 100 huge caves is beyond your wildest imagination. Miles of underground pathways are well designed and lit that you can comfortably walk thru the Natural Entrance and Big Room with ease. If you have difficult in walking miles of descending paths, there are elevators that take you up or down to or back from the bottom of the caves with 3/4 height of Empire State Building. You will be so amazed that you will no needs to visit another cave anywhere in the world. It takes you generally 4 hours to complete the tour. There is a cafeteria in the center which provide restaurant quality food at fast food prices. Be aware that you avoid to visit during the holidays or off-school season because the long wait at the elevators. We place this destination as one of our wonder of the world, not only the seer size, but the beauty, intriguing, variety of the rock formation of the wow of the nature!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
184 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Information, gift shop, restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The visitor's center is the first place to go to at the caverns. You'll need to buy the tickets to enter the cave inside, and/or sign up for the guided cave tours.
The visitor's center has a small museum display, a book store, a gift shop with quite a few selections (clothing, toys, curios), a restaurant, and restrooms with flush toilets.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My friend and I took the elevator and then the Big Room self-guided tour. I'm diabetic and have asthma, and my friend works a very strenuous job and did not want to spend more than an hour walking, so we erred on the side of caution. The walk was very easy, with paved pathways, and only a few inclines. Following the warnings, I had eaten lots of carbs, but my sugar did not drop nearly as dramatically as I feared; the tour had the same effect as a casual stroll aboveground.
This was in May on a weekday, so there were no crowds, and we enjoyed just going at our own pace. The path was wide enough to go around slower people or let faster ones pass.
I have been in many different caves, but never in one this size - and we just saw a fraction of what was offered. The formations were carefully illuminated, so that you didn't stumble around in the dark, but it didn't feel like you were walking around artificial light, either. Both flash pictures and those taken without flash came out surprisingly good, as long as there was enough light around for the cameras to focus in the first place.
For those people who use a wheelchair or don't want to walk the entire area, there are shortcuts, and the signs are well placed so that people can quickly find the main area with elevator and restrooms again.
The visitor center was nice and spacious, and the 17-minute video about caves was very informative. Tip: visit the bookstore first and make your purchases, then check the gift shop for what you couldn't find. I got a much better deal on postcards and stickers at the bookstore than at the gift shop.
It was a bit early for the bats, but we did see some in the evening. The only inconvenience about that was that the visitor center closes at 5, the cave much earlier, and the bat program does not start until dusk, so we had over 2 hours to kill and ended up driving all the way to Carlsbad to hang out at the hotel and drive back for the program. It would have been nice if the visitor center had offered something between 5 and 7, maybe a guided tour, a video, a science program about bats, a dinner program in the restaurant - anything, really.
Other than that, it it definitely worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carlsbad Caverns National Park Visitor Center to your Saves list