We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picnic area and springs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rattlesnake Springs

Rattlesnake Springs
69 Rattlesnake Springs Road, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM 88220
(575) 785-2232
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Iowa
Level Contributor
347 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Picnic area and springs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Rattlesnake Springs is located a few miles south of the Caverns. You turn off the main highway, and take a gravel road for a mile or two. There is a sign along the highway to indicate where you turn off.
We had a picnic breakfast here recently. The picnic area had several tables that were well spaced apart, and shaded. Very nice. There's a small creek behind the picnic area; while we were eating we saw several mule deer back in that area and heard (but didn't see) wild turkeys. The picnic area also has vault toilets.
At first, I assumed the springs were the creek area, especially since there are trails leading to it. It wasn't until I walked to the furthest end of the picnic area that I saw the sign for Rattlesnake Springs. It's a few yards past the picnic area; you can either walk or drive there. The road to it loops around, and you park along that. There's only room for parking for maybe 6-7 cars.
The springs were a bit disappointing to me. I thought it would be all natural, but it's surrounded by cement. It looks like a sewer lagoon. We did see several pretty birds near the springs. A woman that was birdwatching said one was a red tanager (?). She seemed pretty excited by the variety of birds.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Field trip destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went here for the 3rd grade field trip. It was beautiful and the perfect place for a day out in nature. The picnic area is very big (room for 100 people I think) and spread out so you are not on top of each other. There are several shaded grassy areas for Frisbee, whiffle ball, football tossing, etc. The walk from the picnic area to the springs is maybe 1/4 - 1/2 mile of flat easy to walk path. There are bathrooms without running water, and a drinking fountain.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunspot, NM
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A desert oasis with great birding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went for birding and were rewarded with 39 species! A lovely green spot with big cottonwoods in the picnic area and a tree ringed spring. A quiet and relaxing spot to enjoy a picnic and the birds and wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great spot for picnic lunch and birding.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Before we entered the caves, we stopped here to check out the birds - great spot for the SW in winter - and to eat the lunch we brought with us. There are only picnic tables and toilets here - no concessions - but a really cool spring head just up the road a bit - make sure to visit it. We saw at least 6 species of ducks and many other birds....

Nice spot off the beaten path!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“birding in migratory season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

the best spot for birding in the area. outstanding. even if you are not a birder, great for a relaxing picnic. Be sure to be be quiet and you will see an abundance of birds and mammals including Wild Turkeys, Deer and roosting Turkey Vultures.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattlesnake Springs also viewed

 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Rattlesnake Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattlesnake Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.