We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spectacle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park

Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park
3225 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad Caverns National, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM 88220
+1 (0) 575 785 3012
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
Galveston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a spectacle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Having observed bats in my little Texas town, I was already acquainted with them, but the sheer number of them coming out of the cave is staggering! The ranger gives a good talk before the "show" and engages children and adults, too. It is hot. Bring water. Follow the rules about electronic devices...they are serious about it. There is a guano odor after a few minutes, so you may want to sit back a bit. The exit goes on for about 15-20 minutes, so when you have seen enough, quietly leave. I am so glad I went.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    43
    19
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing in late June”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

*Loved* the caverns but after staying an extra 3 hours to see the bats we only saw ~100. I remember seeing clouds of them as a kid. Maybe it will be better in July/august but in june it is not worth the effort.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not so many bats this early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were there in May and the height of the bat flight season is in July and August, so we did not see too many bats, maybe 1K to 2K. I've been there later in the year when 200K or more bats leave the caves in the evening. The ranger talk is informative on the bats. The seating is stone benches, so not the most comfortable, unless you bring your own pad to sit on. The program lasts about an hour, including the bats leaving. You can also come back just before dawn to see them return to the cave from their night of eating mosquitos and other flying bugs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay to watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Bat flight ranger talk currently starts at 7:45 pm and lasts until the bats come out. There was plenty of room for everyone to sit in the amphitheater. When we visited we were fortunate to see many bats leave-they are pretty small and fly out looking like a twister of bats, hundreds at a time-so cool. We stayed about 20 minutes-it looked like the bats had stopped coming out, but can't say for sure. The weather was breezy and the ranger did tell us that the show would be cancelled and we would have to leave if there was lightening. The caverns are beautiful and the bat flight is so unique. Our only disappointment was the park ranger giving the presentation-she seemed like she was tired of answering questions about bats and was a little snarky to some of the adults and kids who asked questions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unique Experience, Everyone should see once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We got into town late and didn't have time to make a trip through the caverns and decided to hit the bat flight (saving the caverns for the next day). We enjoyed the flight and it went off without a hitch.

On a slightly side note, people watching are as much fun as bat watching during this event. It amazes me how some people can't be silent for more than about a minute!

I recommend sitting on the right side while facing the cave. You're closer to the bats and may be able to hear them!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.