We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in late June” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park

Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park
3225 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad Caverns National, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM 88220
+1 (0) 575 785 3012
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing in late June”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

*Loved* the caverns but after staying an extra 3 hours to see the bats we only saw ~100. I remember seeing clouds of them as a kid. Maybe it will be better in July/august but in june it is not worth the effort.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    62
    25
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not so many bats this early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were there in May and the height of the bat flight season is in July and August, so we did not see too many bats, maybe 1K to 2K. I've been there later in the year when 200K or more bats leave the caves in the evening. The ranger talk is informative on the bats. The seating is stone benches, so not the most comfortable, unless you bring your own pad to sit on. The program lasts about an hour, including the bats leaving. You can also come back just before dawn to see them return to the cave from their night of eating mosquitos and other flying bugs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay to watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Bat flight ranger talk currently starts at 7:45 pm and lasts until the bats come out. There was plenty of room for everyone to sit in the amphitheater. When we visited we were fortunate to see many bats leave-they are pretty small and fly out looking like a twister of bats, hundreds at a time-so cool. We stayed about 20 minutes-it looked like the bats had stopped coming out, but can't say for sure. The weather was breezy and the ranger did tell us that the show would be cancelled and we would have to leave if there was lightening. The caverns are beautiful and the bat flight is so unique. Our only disappointment was the park ranger giving the presentation-she seemed like she was tired of answering questions about bats and was a little snarky to some of the adults and kids who asked questions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Toxaway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique Experience, Everyone should see once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We got into town late and didn't have time to make a trip through the caverns and decided to hit the bat flight (saving the caverns for the next day). We enjoyed the flight and it went off without a hitch.

On a slightly side note, people watching are as much fun as bat watching during this event. It amazes me how some people can't be silent for more than about a minute!

I recommend sitting on the right side while facing the cave. You're closer to the bats and may be able to hear them!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Sweet and Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We lucked out on this as we had not originally planned to do the Bat Flight. As it turned out the population was moderately high, ~ 50,000 and so after listening to a nice presentation by a Park Ranger on the history of the program as well as the bats we were presented with a nice view of the bats exiting the cave. It would have been nicer with a little more evening sunlight but it was nice to see them come swirling out and over the rim. Definitely watch the weather and time of night as both impact visibility and even whether the bats exit in quantities that can be detected. The return can be seen for free as well if you can manage a 0500 rise/drive to the visitor center :-) It was a wonderful experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bat Flight Program im Carlsbad Cavern National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.