We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour

Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour
3225 National Parks Highway, Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Website
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Be prepared for a steep downward walk. It takes about 35-45 minutes to walk at a good clip. The swallows are flying in and out of the natural opening and it makes for an exciting start. Once in the cave, the drop continues until you feel like you are deep inside the earth. The formations are visible soon after it is dark and the walk to the rest area continues to be challenging. Before you disappear into the darkness, take one look back at the sky for a truly memorable scene.
This is my third time to the caverns and it always as beautiful and mesmerizing as the first time I saw them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    56
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Took my children down to the Caverns for spring break. The whole family LOVED it. Not a bad walk but be prepared. It is long. This is one of the better places that we have visited. Everyone had a great time. We want to go back in the summer to watch the bats fly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were here last year and wanted to see the caverns again. Excellent. Some recommendations:
Take water, Walk down and elevator up unless you are 20 yrs old. , Wear a knee brace if you need to. It is STEEP. It is 56 degrees in the cave. so, don't need to dress warmly...the temperature and the exercise will keep you warm!! Don't plan on eating at their restaurant. Not friendly and food is not good!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you have small kids get the audio tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The walk down should not be missed, even if you have small kids (I had 2 6 yr olds with me). The walk is nearly 1.5 miles of switchbacks, but gives you a real sense of the depth of the cavern. The big room is an additional 1.2 miles of walking and I dreaded the whining - but thanks to a helpful Ranger, we rented the kids' audio tour sticks and the time flew by! No complaining about tiredness until the last quarter mile to the elevator and they keep replaying the first piece and singing the "rules" song!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beutiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have been in many caves this was one of the largest. The cave has many amazing sites. It is pretty dry what they call a "dead" cave. Not nearly as much water gets in as before. The paths are very easy walk. Wheelchairs and strollers are restricted in the lower part of the caves due to steep paths but they are easy to walk. We did the self guided tour and it was fun. They have guided tours for all levels of cave goers just make sure to get reservations.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlsbad Caverns Natural Entrance Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.