We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting feature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion's Tail

Lion's Tail
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An oddly-shaped stalactite with a pom-pom shape at the end.
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting feature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We bought the Carlsbad Caverns book at the book store which explained how this formation came into existence.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Use your imagination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's really looked like a lion's tail. For my family, we always like to play a game to guess the name of the bizzard stones in the cavern. Use your imagination, you might find a better name for those stalagmites and stalactites.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SSLOVEKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Cool formation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This cool formation is just part of the big room area.There is more Bigger formations in the big room so I dont get why It has to be a stand-along review.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jptravelswithfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A stalactite with quite a unique form. As soon as you see "the lion's tail", you'll know you're looking at it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Tails Tale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Lions Tail looked exactly like a Lions tail. It would have been better had it been lit better and more description about its formation. We were fortunate to have had a ranger on another tour talk about the tail and its formation otherwise we would have missed it and not understood its formation

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAllan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion's Tail also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Lion's Tail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing