We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Dome

Giant Dome
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most impressive limestone formations in Carlsbad Caverns is the Giant Dome, which stands 62 feet high, 16 feet in diameter, and bears a resemblance to the Leaning Tower of Pisa.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's amazing when I saw those giant stalagmites. It's hard to imagine that those stalagmites have grown for thousands of millions of years and are still growing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
203 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool Formation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Giant Dome is an unique rock formation that is quite large. It is one of the Carlsbad Cavern's truly amazing formations. If I remember correctly it is located in the Big Room.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Truly phenomenal structure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It's hard to really describe the Giant Dome; it's such a unique huge rock formation, one of the Carlsbad Cavern's truly remarkable sites. You simply have to see this to appreciate it.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Too incredible to describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

A must see if you are traveling in New Mexico. We were touring the southwest when we decided to stop at the Carlsbad Caverns. It was so incredible that I can't describe how I felt but breathless.

To us, it was better then the Grand Canyon.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Dome also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Giant Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.