We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the fit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slaughter Canyon Cave

Slaughter Canyon Cave
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't let the name scare you away from this natural wonder, a dark cave with no electricity or modern conveniences but plenty of awesome sights including an 89-foot column, a dazzling Christmas tree-like column and a rimstone dam. Guided tours must be booked in advance.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For the fit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

After a hike of about a mile in 100 degree weather, we got to the cave's entrance. The cave is very slippery. I think everybody fell in my group at one point or another. The formations and the adventure made it all worthy though. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful formations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After a moderate hike up the canyon, enter a cave with formations everywhere. The ranger lead tour takes you to several rooms with some amazing formations. Tours are limited with reservations accepted via the Carlsbad Caverns web site. Sign up early to make sure you get your desired tour. National Park Service provides a helmet and headlamp (your AA batteries required.) Bring a good flashlight and camera (both with holders to free up your hands) and wear sturdy shoes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tough hike to see a damaged cave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The hike in, as others have said, is strenuous but fairly short. Definitely a hike to avoid if you're not at least in decent shape although if you're not I expect the rangers would wait for you. Everyone in our group was in good shape so we pretty much all made it to the cave entrance within 30 minutes or so. Once inside the cave you see a lot of damage from prior bat guano mining. You basically do a big loop around the cave. Some of the rooms are quite striking (Christmas tree, Great Wall of China) and others are less so. The cave trip says it finishes at 230 although we were back to the cars by 130 (it is about 45 minutes from the main cave, however while you start the day there, the rangers will take your gloves and helmets so you don't have to drive all the way back). Overall, it was an average cave with a strenuous approach, hence the 3 star rating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Natural Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This tour was great!! Make reservations at least a day in advance, we had to wait in line the day of and cross our fingers we would get on it. I'm a moderate hiker and found the hike in and out not strenuous. If you have hiking experience it should not be an issue. The biggest problem may be the heat depending on the time of year you visit. The cave itself is an untouched jem! What a joy to experience such beauty. Defiantly worth spending the day doing this hike if you are looking for a tour where the formations are untouched by human intervention. Bring an energy bar for an after tour snack, it's a long time without food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmac2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun tour that will fill your morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I loved the tour using a flashlight and lighted helmet. The rangers were alot of fun and the experience is one of a kind. The cave is one that was used for mining 50 years ago and never was developed. Yes there is alot of damage, but the sheer numbers of formations here is amazing. Bring along a strong hand held flashlight.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drkappasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slaughter Canyon Cave also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Slaughter Canyon Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing