We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the fit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slaughter Canyon Cave

Slaughter Canyon Cave
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Don't let the name scare you away from this natural wonder, a dark cave with no electricity or modern conveniences but plenty of awesome sights including an 89-foot column, a dazzling Christmas tree-like column and a rimstone dam. Guided tours must be booked in advance.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For the fit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

After a hike of about a mile in 100 degree weather, we got to the cave's entrance. The cave is very slippery. I think everybody fell in my group at one point or another. The formations and the adventure made it all worthy though. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Republic, Missouri
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful formations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After a moderate hike up the canyon, enter a cave with formations everywhere. The ranger lead tour takes you to several rooms with some amazing formations. Tours are limited with reservations accepted via the Carlsbad Caverns web site. Sign up early to make sure you get your desired tour. National Park Service provides a helmet and headlamp (your AA batteries required.) Bring a good flashlight and camera (both with holders to free up your hands) and wear sturdy shoes.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“You must be in great shape in order to do it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We did not do it. I didn't feel safe. It is not for a couple like us. But we talked to some people who were able to do it and they said it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tough hike to see a damaged cave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The hike in, as others have said, is strenuous but fairly short. Definitely a hike to avoid if you're not at least in decent shape although if you're not I expect the rangers would wait for you. Everyone in our group was in good shape so we pretty much all made it to the cave entrance within 30 minutes or so. Once inside the cave you see a lot of damage from prior bat guano mining. You basically do a big loop around the cave. Some of the rooms are quite striking (Christmas tree, Great Wall of China) and others are less so. The cave trip says it finishes at 230 although we were back to the cars by 130 (it is about 45 minutes from the main cave, however while you start the day there, the rangers will take your gloves and helmets so you don't have to drive all the way back). Overall, it was an average cave with a strenuous approach, hence the 3 star rating.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Natural Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This tour was great!! Make reservations at least a day in advance, we had to wait in line the day of and cross our fingers we would get on it. I'm a moderate hiker and found the hike in and out not strenuous. If you have hiking experience it should not be an issue. The biggest problem may be the heat depending on the time of year you visit. The cave itself is an untouched jem! What a joy to experience such beauty. Defiantly worth spending the day doing this hike if you are looking for a tour where the formations are untouched by human intervention. Bring an energy bar for an after tour snack, it's a long time without food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slaughter Canyon Cave also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM
 

Been to Slaughter Canyon Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slaughter Canyon Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;