We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Cohab Canyon hike beginning near the campground for best views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cohab Canyon Trail

Cohab Canyon Trail
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1.75-mile hike leading to the campground and other trails.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go for the Cohab Canyon hike beginning near the campground for best views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I hiked Cohab Canyon from the Hwy 24 side, parking near the trailhead for the Hickman Bridge and Navajo Knobs. The hike from this side gets a few views of Capitol Dome and rock faces on the north side of the park but no views of the Visitor Center side of the park. Although the Visitor Center trailhead (near the campground) is much steeper (400 ft. rise over about 1/2 mile) you get some great views of the park's north and west sides as well as the Fremont River. Considering the short length of this hike you can get some great views almost from the start. For about the same amount of effort we much preferred the Chimney Rock hike on the West side of the park off Hwy 24 on the way to Torrey. Hip and Hop

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, IL
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our first hike after visiting the visitor center was the Cohab Canyon - a nice hike. The elevation gain was minimal (I think 400 or so feet), most of which were switchbacks at the beginning...not too bad. Some of the trail in the canyon followed the sandy wash, but otherwise it was mostly hike on solid and crumbled rock. As there were rain clouds in the area, we did not go all the way to Highway 24, rather, from the campground, we hiked to the Fuita overlooks (a shorter spur hike with some minimal elevation gain). After the overlooks, we returned from the way we came. We did come accross some other people, but the trail was quiet and natural.

After the hike, it was a short walk to the Gifford House and Barn. Hmmmm...a small $1 ice cream was perfect.

If you could, it might be nice to arrange a car or bike shuttle from Grand Wash and/or Highway 24... No bathrooms at trailhead, but the visitor center is within a mile.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Collins, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great easy hike from campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Walk out of campground and the trailhead is right there. Switchbacks make for easy climb up. Fantastic canyon scenery. Enjoyed the hike !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The beauty of this hike is that you can turn around whenever you are ready. (Which helps with little ones)

We did lots of bouldering in the canyon and explored the slot canyons on the right (When coming from the campground). Cool spot to explore, and its right out of the campground--no need to drive to the trailhead.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price, Utah
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfol Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we left about 10 am heading east taking the steep switchbacks early in the partial shade. The uphill a little streanous but ok places to rest. But then going down the canyon itselt was great and easy hike gently downhill for the most part wonderful side trip in to small slot canyons and flowers all around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cohab Canyon Trail also viewed

Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
Capitol Reef National Park, UT
 

Been to Cohab Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cohab Canyon Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.