We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island in the sky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyonlands National Park

Canyonlands National Park
Canyonlands National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Attraction details
Tugun, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Island in the sky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well, the Canyonland National Park, is definitely something different "in the sky". The rock formations and canyons are just out of this world. My favourite, the Mesa's. Just amazing. I think to fully appreciate, one would have to visit themselves. If you are only half interested in geology, erosion, colours, vastness and the American hospitality - do yourself a favour- go!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,223
    353
    56
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Superb Panorama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Amazing place, so huge! We travelled as much of it as we could and were spellbound by the beauty and majesty of the park

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Canyonland is not the best place to go if time is limited.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

When days count and there is more to see than you can get done in a week, the part of Canyonland we saw might get a pass. In other parks there is beauty everywhere you look. In Canyonlands we drove miles to get to something worh pulling over and seeing. Yes, Shafer point is gorgeous, but there is just a small pull out. This part of the park is not developed enough to accomodate very many travelers. There is parking for those wanting to go to the Green River overview and Mesa Arch. There is beauty out there, but no way to see it. At the visiter's center there is a picture of the canyon and the "island in the sky." Great. too bad there was no way we could find to get that same view unless we parked at the visiter's center and did hike. We'd definitely head to the Deah Horse area next time and hope for better.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nothing to dislike here. Grand View point overlook is unbelievable. You're a little over 6000 feet here looking into [my choice of words] a double canyon.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunrise at Mesa Arch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mesa Arch at sunrise was spectacular -- only a short hike, but the magic of the arch lasts only 20-30 minutes after sunrise. Other sites are great, but Mesa Arch is outstanding

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyonlands National Park also viewed

 
Canyonlands National Park, UT
 

Been to Canyonlands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyonlands National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.