We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bike trip and so much beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rim Trail

White Rim Trail
Canyonlands National Park, UT
435-259-1370
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails, Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails, Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging mountain biking trail.
Hightland, UT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great bike trip and so much beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have ridden the White Rim trail two times on my mountain bike and hope to return for more. The views change with nearly every mile, you are always seeing something new. The restrooms and campgrounds are primitive but that's what I expect, to get away from the world. We have ridden in groups, some with great bike skills and others who just get on a bike for this ride. Some climb all the hills others walk their bikes up most of the hills. The key is take your time enjoy the beauty and it's amazing how many different people can enjoy the ride.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    3
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, CO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Book your permit early to get the best dates and camp sites. We had a blast with 12 bikers and 2 sag wagons. We camped at Airport, then Candlestick (which made for a long second day but a short last day), then Labyrinth. All of the camp spots are good after a long day of bike riding - Google around and read what others say about each spot.

We also did the trip as an out and back with my 65 year old parents in our 4runner. We went down the Shafer Trail to the Goose Neck overlook - a few other overlooks and then lunch at Musselman Arch before turning around and heading back out the way we came. After driving back out we had enough time to do all the highlights of Canyonlands: Mesa Arch, Upheaval Dome, and the Grand View Point for Sunset.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good overnight ride or LOOOOONG day if you're in IRON MAN shape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's a freaking DOOZY!!! So either pack lots of food and water for a long day trip and be in the kind of shape Lance Armstrong is in, or be smart, and pack a tent and supplies and camp overnight. Then wake up to an awesome sunrise and finish the ride...good for couples but guys, don't drag your girlfriends up here unless you date Susan Dematai, who mastered this ride and trained there in the 90's on her journey as World Mtn. Bike Champion...it's a sweet ride but a puker!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredable Journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We did the entire route in a day in our jeep. It's a long one day trip but more than possible without to much rush. Scenery is undiscribable. The route is fairly easy with a high clearence vehicle, only downside is it is very narrow making it hard to pass mountain bikes or slow moving vehicles, also it's not one way so oncomming trafic can pose quit a night mare but the views more than make up for any trama you might incure.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Been there done that”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Yes, it is a beautiful area, but it is a long way around and you have to keep to your permitted schedule. It is in the part and it you want to spend extra time in one area to explore a little more and your permit doesn't state that you will be there, you need to move on to your next camp. It is a wonderful place but there are other places you can enjoy as much but on your own schedule. It is a nice place to do at least once. But not a place I would keep going back to.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rim Trail also viewed

Canyonlands National Park, UT
Arches National Park, UT
 

Been to White Rim Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rim Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.