We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Good Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Family Steak House

Foster's Family Steak House
1152 Highway 12, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84764
435-834-5227
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Rapid City, SD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Three Good Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good restaurants in Panguitch, UT are lacking. We had read reviews about Foster's which is out of town so we pulled in there. After being on the road and eating fast food their French Dip was awesome - tender prime rib on a hoagie bun. I didn't have pie but the rest of our crew did and the reports were good. I returned another day and had the BBQ sandwich which again was tender prime rib plus homemade fries. It did not disappoint. The third visit was for breakfast on the way home and again we left happy. My husband tried the stir fry and that was Ok. The food I had at Foster's was better than the meal I had at the Bryce Canyon Lodge. The outside of the restaurant is deceiving but once you get inside it's open and comfortable - lots of windows to look out of. One must remember when judging restaurants that everyone has individual tastes. A gourmand may not find a family restaurant exciting while a hungry family on the road looking for a decent quality meal may find Foster's hits the spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    177
    73
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Due to limited choices of restaurants to go to in Bryce...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

There are not many choices of restaurants to eat at Bryce but we are glad we ate dinner here. We spent almost $60 but it was worth it. Blueberry Pie rocks. Berries pie was fair. We went out feeling full and in a good mood to end the night because the pie was really good and some food are really good. The beef cabbage soup was hearty but very oily and salty, it taste really good but was worried about my cholesterol since fat is floating on this soup. They don't really advertise healthy food so not expecting light healthy dish. French dip was good as well as lemon chicken. Service is slow,understandably so because this place is busy and packed! And for a good reason: it's way better than other restaurants at Bryce. Money spent was worth it knowing that we would probably spend more in other restaurant and the food wouldn't be as good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived on a hot evening in mid-May and when we walked in and complained about the temperature we were told that they had a problem with the AC. It took my suggestion that they should keep the doors open to get some ventilation [Duh!]. We saw them opening the doors as we left the parking lot. We hope the food is better than their common sense.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak and pie....oh my!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A good 7 miles from Bryce Canyon. There were quite a few busloads of tourists near the Visitors Center so we chose to head towards Tropic. Fosters was a great alternative! The T-bone and pepper steaks were super! Baked potato wasn't cooked: should have chosen the mashed potato! Foster's Berry pie was delicious! Nice atmosphere/ friendly service. We were glad we drove a little bit away from the canyon entrance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went here by chance because it was so late - 9pm. Service was excellent and food was delicious. We were very pleased. Everything cooked just right and the people so nice. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Family Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.