We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Family Steak House

Foster's Family Steak House
Rte. 12, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
435-834-5227
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Blah”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Ordered the Half Rack of Ribs on Special. The were extremely dry, and you can tell were reheated from Long ago. My wife's lemon chicken was extremely fatty. Eat again and again at the Pines or the Lodge rather then any of the other places around Bryce

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    143
    56
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best soup, period.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The meal was great. The server was really funny but maybe a little too sarcastic but appropriate for our group. The best part was the soup. Really, the soup. The cream of asparagus was to die for and the French onion was almost as good. While going back for another bowl, I overheard another guest commenting on how good the soup was. Oh, and the pie... Holy cow, don't leave without a piece of fosters pie. Its awesome. Great job Fosters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast closest to Bryce Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

After having suffered through a breakfast buffet at Ruby's, we ventured about a mile and a half to Foster's on Rt 12. It is nothing to look at from the outside, but inside you will find an attractive restaurant and friendly staff. Breakfast is tasty and served efficiently. We had oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, OJ, and coffee. Returned the next day for the same!

Had steak dinner here one night. Fairly basic, but good and much better than Ruby's. The Lodge inside of the park has great food, but outside of the park, there isn't much choice. Reviews for the restaurant at Bryce Pines Inn seem good, but after the way we were treated by the Inn owner when we changed our room reservation, we would not eat at the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“YUCK! YUCK! YUCK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There aren't many dining options around Bryce Canyon, so we went to Foster's. What a mistake!! The salad bar was lame - only iceberg lettuce; no tomatoes; no carrots - nothing much to make a good salad. We ordered our steaks cooked "medium," and they were so overcooked! They were disgusting and even left a foul taste in our mouths afterward! We should have just eaten ice cream for dinner that night!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Girlfriend and I came to town to do some hiking in Bryce Canyon. Afterwards, we were both famished and I was jonesing for some steak for dinner. After a quick scan of some reviews online, we decided on Foster's Steak House after seeing some negative reviews surrounding Ruby's.

You wouldn't think much of the place when you see it from outside, but the environment inside was warm and homey and needless to say the food we got was phenomenal. I ordered the Prime Rib and she got a double-stacked burger, they were both delicious (prime rib was out of this world!). The portion sizes were great, the sides were delicious, even the appetizers of mushrooms and garlic bread were delicious.

I enjoyed the local beer (Polygamy Porter), and we topped the meal off with the mixed berry pie for dessert and it was absolutely amazing. WASN'T.EVEN.FAIR, we were so stuffed.

Staff was great, HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Family Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.