We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK! YUCK! YUCK!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Family Steak House

Foster's Family Steak House
Rte. 12, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
435-834-5227
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“YUCK! YUCK! YUCK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There aren't many dining options around Bryce Canyon, so we went to Foster's. What a mistake!! The salad bar was lame - only iceberg lettuce; no tomatoes; no carrots - nothing much to make a good salad. We ordered our steaks cooked "medium," and they were so overcooked! They were disgusting and even left a foul taste in our mouths afterward! We should have just eaten ice cream for dinner that night!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    153
    61
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Girlfriend and I came to town to do some hiking in Bryce Canyon. Afterwards, we were both famished and I was jonesing for some steak for dinner. After a quick scan of some reviews online, we decided on Foster's Steak House after seeing some negative reviews surrounding Ruby's.

You wouldn't think much of the place when you see it from outside, but the environment inside was warm and homey and needless to say the food we got was phenomenal. I ordered the Prime Rib and she got a double-stacked burger, they were both delicious (prime rib was out of this world!). The portion sizes were great, the sides were delicious, even the appetizers of mushrooms and garlic bread were delicious.

I enjoyed the local beer (Polygamy Porter), and we topped the meal off with the mixed berry pie for dessert and it was absolutely amazing. WASN'T.EVEN.FAIR, we were so stuffed.

Staff was great, HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Just ok but limited options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I ate here our first night as options are limited in Bryce. We both had steaks which we over cooked but tasty. Server had no personality. Try Bryce Pines Inn for dining. Great option.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than Ruby's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

So, there are not really many food options near Bryce and Ruby's is just not that great or friendly. We decided to try Foster's and were pleasantly surprised. The building does not look that great great, but the atmosphere was good. We had steaks, with baked potatoes and veggies which were very good. The soup could use a little help though. They also baked pies which looked good, but we were too full to try.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reviews wrong.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We choose this restaurant based on some really good reviews. OMG the only nice thing I can say is the service was excellant and staff friendly. Someone posted how delicious the chicken fried steak was so that's why we went there. We love chicken fried steak but not theirs. We split a cherry pie and again it was ok not fantastic. Everyone complains about Ruby's which is where we stayed. It couldn't have been worse but then again maybe it could.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Family Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.