We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rural eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Family Steak House

Foster's Family Steak House
Rte. 12, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
435-834-5227
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hilo, HI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent rural eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in Bryce Canyon in winter, so most of the restaurants were closed. After checking out the reviews here on TA we were left with this as a "maybe". Well it was fine. Considering where you are (middle of nowhere) and the time of year (winter off season) it actually was decent. We ate here 2 nights for dinner and we had a salmon, a steak, and 2 country fried steaks. Everything was tasty, hot, and on time. Service was friendly & informal as you would expect. Nothing gourmet but still very acceptable. the prices were fair as well. I would go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    145
    58
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Aurora, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went there because everyone said they had the best prime rib in town! My husband had a bad piece of steak that he could not even eat a bite. Being a chef, we understand that this can happen. But, when we told the waitress, she acted like it was our fault! She said that the 2 pieces she gave us were the last 2 she had when in fact we knew she was lying because the booth behind us ordered the exact same thing! When we went to pay, we realized she charged us full price for a meal that not one bite was eaten! We nicely said that it was not right to do that but we would pay for the meal. The waitress continued to yell at us at the register, rip the check out of our hands and made a scene. We were totally embarassed! Don't go there if you want good food and customer service!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gem of a find on the way to Bryce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We ate here not once but twice in a 4 day stay in the area. The first day, we both had the trout and I don't know where they got it from but it must have been nearby - YUM, YUM, YUM! The 2nd day I had the Ruben. I love Rubens but am picky about them and this one was just about perfect. If they were closer to where I lived, I'd be eating here all the time!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Springs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Welcomed lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

after a very cold weather hike in the park.

Just plain and plentiful good grub. Although I did not try the salad bar, the ingredients looked fresh. I did have their homemade cream of tomato soup and it " hit the spot".

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I ate once at this restaurant when I was visiting Bryce Canyon. The entrees are big but the quality of the food is poor...I'd rather having less food but a better one!! The tables did not look very clean also so i guess it did not help me to like it here...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Family Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.