We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Lodge

Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84717
435 834 5361
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate here the one and only night we stayed. Although expensive the food was very good. The service was good, we tend to eat early so no crowd to worry about. While we had dinner we watched deer walk by the window in the parking lot. The table setting is very fancy and this may deter some diners, the prices too. But the food was very well presented and delicious. I had the duck (was better at El tovar) and my husband had the seafood risotto which he raved about. The elk chili is to die for, very good!! The restaurant is convenient for those staying at the lodge and I would eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    229
    108
    51
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Thirty of us ate two dinners here, and most of us were very, very happy we did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was at Bryce with a hiking group and we ate here both evenings. Plenty of choices on the menu. An adequate wine-by-the-glass list and a better beer menu. Most of us really liked our dinners here. A few didn't and tried someplace else the second night, but were disappointed because there aren't that many choices in town and most serve pretty basic food. I'd recommend asking a few questions about the dishes you're considering before you make your selection. Worked for us. We'd eat here again in a heartbeat if we were back this way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent two days at the Lodge at Bryce Canyon. It is hard to get away these days, with smart phones and tablets keeping us connected. We manage to get away from everyday life at Bryce. We didn't move our car for two days. We could walk to the canyon's rim at sunset, hike from the rim at sunrise, walk to the coffee shop for our morning java fix, walk to the dining hall, and take the shuttle to the visitor's center and view points. The architecture of the lodge is lovely, and I felt close to my parents, now gone, knowing this was the Bryce they saw. The service is slow, but our meals were quite good. The Unita Hoodoo beer is a gem, wish I could find it at home. We didn't eat breakfast, just coffee and yogurt so we could start our hikes. Our dinner was delicious: good bread, spinach salads well assembled with accents, the pasta with salmon was fresh and generous. Yes, the service is slow, but it was a reminder to slow down -- no schedule! The clerk who checked us in on Monday night was still there after we retired, then he was at the desk in the morning when we went for our 6:30 am coffee, and he was still there at lunch and dinner. The staff is working really long hours in the middle of nowhere, and were constantly asking how they could help. My service expectations were exceeded. Now, if Bryce only could get some toilet paper that isn't sand paper....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad mahi mahi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was looking forward to eating at this lodge. The surroundings are incredible, and I was really hungry after a day of hiking. It had been a great day, but the mahi mahi special completely ruined it. About an hour after eating, I began to get that weird feeling - first hot then cold then queasy. Without unnecessary details, I spent the next hour conversing with the toilet bowl. After taking the night to regain my strength, I returned to the restaurant to alert them of the fact that they might want to remove that particular shipment of mahi mahi from the premises. The manager told me that they sell lots of it , and nobody ever gets sick or complains. He then moved on to other things, and I moved on to a better, safer restaurant for the balance of my trip. (The Bryce Canyon Pines restaurant about 5 miles northwest of the park entrance is really good.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“National Parks tour 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although the hotel is a beautifully peaceful place to stay in a stunning location, the restaurant was a real disappointment. The breakfast buffet was expensive ($13.50) and only of interest to those wishing to eat high cholesterol food. The a la carte breakfast menu was VERY expensive and the service slow. Dinner menu promised much but the food was ordinary, fish overcooked, meat dry and tough - prices again high. Servers tended to be over familiar - leaning on customers' chairs for long conversations whilst other customers waited.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryce Canyon Lodge also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Bryce Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.