We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only okay....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryce Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Campground
Save
You added North Campground to your Saves list
Bryce Canyon Visitor Center, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Only okay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Loop C (tent only). This is a VERY dusty campground with very little ground foliage, which adds to the dry and dusty look. There isn't very much privacy for most spots and most are close together. On our first night we stayed at spot 67 which was nice and close to the restroom, but the main trail to the restroom ran right behind and so we got a LOT of foot traffic. The following morning one of the two best spots in the entire campground (sites 71 and 73) opened up just across the way from us, so we moved over there for out second two nights. Site 73 was GREAT! We had only one neighbor. There was no privacy between 71 and 73, but there were FAR apart. There is a TON of room at this spot; I was shocked it wasn't a group site. You could fit 3-4 tents easily. The back of the site backs up to the forest....great view! The bathrooms were actually quite clean with flush toilets and a sink for washing. There is a utility sink as well for washing dishes. There are no showers at the campground, but you can go to the general store and pay for a shower there (small individual stalls and one large handicap stall....handicap stall takes $2 in quarters, but you need to exchange cash for two $1 presidential dollars in the store itself for the regular stalls (8 minute timed). The shower area was typical for a campground shower...hot water, bring your shampoo etc.

There weren't any evening fireside chats at the campground, but they offer a geology talk during the day at one of the viewpoints and a star-gazing talk certain evenings near the visitor center.

It was nice enough overall, but I doubt we'd stay there again. As much as I enjoy camping, I'd probably rather stay at a motel for this particular national park. Ruby's Inn looked really nice.

Room Tip: Get there EARLY!!! Campground filled up by mid day. Most campers were leaving between 8 and 9 and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here on Loop A. It can be challenging to find a spot that is easy to level a motorhome in. We saw many, many rented motorhomes of varying sizes that weren't even close to level. I don't understand how that would be tolerable but...whatever. It's a very nice campground located close to the Rim Trail from which you can access trails that head down into the canyon. The hosts were very cordial, friendly, and helpful. You can walk to the general store and to Bryce Canyon Lodge which is beautiful and has a magnificent gift shop. Make sure to visit the gas station near the lodge that operated from 1948 to 1988. A nostalgic step back in time. The bathrooms in the campground have hot water, flush toilets and electricity and there are sinks in which to wash dishes. This isn't exactly a primo camping experience but the proximity to the canyon rim and trails is excellent and that's what it's about! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

$15 a night, no reservations so show up around checkout time (11 am ?) and get vacated spots. I came Monday morning, campsites were all empty, but by Wed they were all full. Great deal, and enjoyable camping, some spots offer decent privacy, others don't. Flushing toilets and clean restroom only amenities. I had an awesome site that had a perfect view of the forest and distant cliffs so I was quite happy with my campsite. Easy walk to Sunrise point and rim trail from campground, not too crowded at all during March, very cold!!! I had a parka so I was warm. The canyon rim and campground can get very cold with biting winds, but hiking down is much warmer if you enter the canyon itself.

Room Tip: Campground will accommodate even large 5th wheels in some sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great campground in amongst the forest. Travelled in late Nov so the only campground open. No shuttles running either, but was very quite so no problem driving/parking anywhere we wanted to go. Fantastic facilities, very clean. No shower or electrical hookups but campiste has more than enough room (We had a 16ft van), picnic table and fire pit. It was the coldest night of our trip, so wrap up warm even if you're not camping! Definitely stay here again! Went here after the Grand Canyon. So glad we did otherwise would've been so underwhelmed by the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Clean toilets, fire pit, picknick table, a lot of shade and enough room.
Showers are nearby at the General Store (2 dollars).
Well, it's the typical National Park campground: nothing to complain about, nothing special but well worth the 15$ a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed the beauty of this area and it was made more enjoyable by camping there. There are no showers and the bathrooms were not special, but the location is mind blowing. Bryce canyon puts the grand canyon to shame. I can't wait to come back and visit again. Endless hiking trails and felt that we got plenty of exercise as we explored the hoodoo's.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Floorida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in RV. Cool nights ment not having hookups was no big deal. Clean and all sights pull through. Close to visitors center but shuttle bus has multiple stops so that didn't matter. Laudry present onsite but it is on the small side. Great hiking. Horse and mule rides are great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Campground

Address: Bryce Canyon Visitor Center, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bryce Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular campground offering 125 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Campground Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
North Campground Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.