We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Land of the Hoodoos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peek-A-Boo Loop

Peek-A-Boo Loop
Bryce Point, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Picnicking, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4.1-mile hiking trail, often steep, which is used by people and horses, and has a picnic area at the bottom.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Land of the Hoodoos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Having read all the previous reviews for “Peek-A-Boo” loop, I am in total agreement that this hike is off the charts spectacular. If you have a chance to experience this hike in Bryce, do it and make sure you bring your camera with you. This is one great place to take pictures because you don’t need to be a pro to take super photos. The fun part is every turn provides something new and different in this land of Hoodoos! I was lucky to have the opportunity to hike this trail twice this year. Although this hike is strenuous with constant up and down hills, this is advantageous for two reasons. One, the steep terrain is the main reason this hike is so awesome. The up and down terrain with its many bends and curves makes for beautiful scenery. And secondly, if the trail was flat and easy to hike there would be so many people on this trail, it would be impossible to fully enjoy it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We did the Navajo - Peek-A-Boo loop. It was raining off and on (yeah, the "monsoon season" apparently), but this 3-4 hour hike was spectacular. Very muddy. Very crowded at the beginning and end (along the Navajo trail), but we were almost alone on the Peek-A-Boo trail (we did it on a Sunday as a day trip from Zion N.P.). Around every corner was another beautiful view. The contrast in colors between the dark green pines and the alternating reds, oranges, and whites of the rock was magical, not to mention the hoodoo's and windows. It was a moderate hike, but our whole party was tired when we started back up the Navajo trail (Wall Street, I think?). There weren't really any drop-offs to be concerned about because the trail was wide, but because of the rain there were a few spots where we were cautious lest we slip and tumble (more like slowly roll) to the bottom. Also, because of the rain, the Ranger told us the horses weren't on the trail when we were there, but there was still quite a bit of horse poop to negotiate. Fortunately, even with the wet conditions, there were no missteps. This was a really unique hike, and I would heartily recommend it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hoodoo the Voodoo that You Dooo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Wow. This was one hell of an experience to be honest. First of all, we went when there were MONSOONS. Lightning, thunder, down pour, yeah. It is straight down, then up and down, then straight up. If it rains it gets really muddy, but we were fine. It's over 5 miles roundtrip, and they say 1500 feet climb, but that's probably not counting all the hills and gullies through the hike. It is spectacular, but not for the faint of heart! We walked fairly briskly (it was getting dark) and it took us over 3 hours.

The lightning, thunder, and torrential down pours were not even the most spectacular parts. There are windows, hoodoos, walls- you name it! The ponderosa trees are amazing too- some of the trees have wood that grew in tight spirals, like a barber's pole!

Overall, this is a very long hike, especially for someone who is out of shape (me!), my husband carried our son in a hiking backpack (50+lbs) the whole way and we were both very tired at the end, but it was a good kind of tired. We felt it for quite a few days afterward, but it was all unbelievably beautiful. There are BATHROOMS down there too! When you first climb down to the loop, if you turn left and walk a ways near the horses corral there is an outhouse which isn't too bad. There are also horses that use this trail, so there are quite a few 'road apples' along the way. It didn't bother us too much, but if you're squeamish about that kind of stuff, pick a trail that doesn't have horses on it and you'll be just fine.

If you hike somewhat regularly, you should be okay. Bring water, possibly an umbrella, and some sunscreen. You never know what's going to happen out there, but it seems a long way back! Bottom line, we'd definitely hike this trail again, even in the thunder and lightning storms! The echoes through the canyons were amazing. Strenuous, yes, but memorable!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome hike, especially with Figure 8”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the much quieter portion of the Figure 8 hike, with spectacular payoffs for the up and down effort it requires. Amazing views, beware of horse droppings and their associated flies as horses share the trail. You'll see hoodoos and windows with spectacular views at each turn. Leave early for your Figure 8 from Sunrise Point and the Navajo/Queen's garden portion does not disappoint either. You'll never regret this hike, a must see in Bryce.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I'm feeling good, lets do this loop too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

And that's how you add a few more miles to your hike. It was 100% worth it, even tho the vertical climb they list in the park newspaper is waaaaaay under the actual accumulated feet climbed. They fail to mention that you go up and down and up and down a LOT, eventually topping out at 1500 ft when you actually climb about 8000. OUCH! But oh my god, so freaking gorgeous I didn't even care. Only thing that really stank about the hike, you share it with the horses which means you share it with their poo. And in the hot summer sun, yeeeeowwwww!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peek-A-Boo Loop also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Peek-A-Boo Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peek-A-Boo Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.