We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage feel with updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bryce Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Bryce Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84717   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Vintage feel with updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

we spent one night here and I wish we could have spent more. the room has a definite vintage feel to it but it has updates such as the refrigerator and microwave. there's no air conditioning but since its cool Bryce you would enjoy a live we didn't feel we need it. they did include a fa that we used at night and that was all we needed. we saw the price was a little high but considering the location we didn't have much choice. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    425
    191
    81
    32
See reviews for
299
471
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in the Sunset Unit. Rooms were very dark, even with all windows and door to patio open. But no matter as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Next time I think I'd try for a Cabin. There were none available a time of booking.

Restaurant was EXCELLENT. We had dinner there both nights. Menu incredibly varied and extensive. Restaurant service was also excellent.

Can't beat the location - just a few steps from the canyon rim. If you go, get up early and see the dawn. DON'T stand at Sunrise Point to watch it - stand at SUNSET Point. That way, the sun rises with the Amphitheatre in the foreground allowing for much better photographs. Then, hike down the Navajo Trail taking pictures along the way of the backlit Hoodoos. Don't take Wall Street at this hour - sunlight doesn't get down in there that early. Continue on to the Queen's Garden Trail and back up to the Lodge for a well earned breakfast. Perfect.

Room Tip: Go for a cabin. Sunset Unit rooms a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a log cabin just a short walk from the rim trail overlooking the Amphitheatre, and this was overall the best cabin stay I've ever experienced. The cabin was just rustic enough, but had the necessary conveniences and was clean and neat. Who cares about whether the furnishing are "outdated"? Guess it depends on your priorities. To me, lying on the comfortable bed and gazing up at the high beamed ceiling in quietude was the ultimate in indoor relaxation. In the morning, I could walk down a short trail and look out over the fantastic red rock Amphitheatre, or just sit on the wood bench and sip my in-room coffee. The only problem was that the ubiquitous scurrying chipmunks, or whatever type of critter they were, refused to pose for pictures for even a few seconds, and this was very frustrating. This was our second visit to Bryce, and I hope there will be many more. If you love getting out in nature with one foot still in civilization with its amenities, this is the kind of vacation getaway you don't want to end.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin near the Amphitheatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

welcoming staff, and lodge is right on the canyon so can overlook the dated look, the rooms are comfortable with drip coffee facility ( we had to clean ours form previous guests), the restaurant at night was good with friendly knowledgeable staff . breakfast was a different story, no assistance re the buffet or menu. had to look for help to get oats, was so annoyed left no tip. but be warned they may auto add it in anyway, but Bryce Canyon itself is amazing and I prefer it to Grand Canyon

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor which gave some views and also allowed opening the windows and still have q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the Sunset Lodge rather than a cabin because we wanted a refrigerator. The two queen beds served our purpose for the three of us. Don't expect TV or wi fi or air conditioning and know that sometimes cell service can be spotty. The best part is leaving the car parked and walking to the rim and then onto your choice of trails. The views are magnificent. There is a lodge restaurant which is not inexpensive. Its menu, as well as that of the nearby pizzeria, indicates some items are gluten free, which speaks to me because I am celiac. Unfortunately I had a bad reaction after eating dinner in the restaurant, which affected my hiking experience the next day. We did speak to the head chef two days later, who assured us of the staff's sensitivity to gluten intolerance. Having said that, we would stay there again because of the proximity to the canyon and the views.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Best location to stay if exploring Bryce national park but when they say "rustic" they really mean "dated". I live in the West and rustic is not dark, drab, old fake wood. I stayed in the motel rooms, which I was told were more updated....they were very dark and depressing inside and the patios needed much more comfortable tables and chairs. It wouldn't take much to brighten up the place and make it feel more modern. But I was walking distance to the Hoo doos, which was amazing.

Room Tip: Make sure to know in which part of the lodge your room will be located. Also, there's no snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Don't miss Bryce Canyon. But the Canyon lodge is just OK and expensive. You are visiting for the views so no TV, Internet or AC and no refunds. Spectacular views, fun hikes, good food and friendly staff! A memorable experience worth the drive! Recommend staying here and seeing the sunrise or sunset at least once in your life!

Room Tip: Stayed in Sunset lodge and recommend it with the reviewed caveats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryce Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Lodge

Address: Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84717
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryce Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryce Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Bryce Canyon, located near the rim of Bryce Canyon, is the only lodging in the Park and the perfect spot from which to launch your hoodoo and spires exploration. Couples, families and groups enjoy up-close access to the Park's rim trails and excursions plus front row seats to stunning sunrises and sunsets. Accommodations include 70 newly remodeled motel-style guest rooms(2 queens or 1 king bed) with refrigerators and microwaves; 40 cabins with gas log fireplaces. Complimentary Wi-Fi is located in the Lodge's lobby and at Valhalla Pizzaria. The historic dining room at the Lodge dates back to the original opening of the Lodge. We offer a varied menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Healthy gluten free and vegetarian options compliment the steaks, chops, pasta, fresh seafood and chicken selections. Our wine list features local Utah Micro-brews, domestic as well as international wine selections. Guests on the go can also grab a snack at the fast-food snack bar in the Park's General Store. Or, order to-go box lunches 24-hrs. in advance to take along on hiking and day-trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Bryce Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
Bryce Canyon Lodge Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.