We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but service could be better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryce Canyon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bryce Canyon Lodge to your Saves list
Bryce Canyon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84717   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good but service could be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The big advantage about staying here are that you are in the park and very close to Sunrise and Sunset points, the views from which are simply stunning in the pre-sunrise light, the white rock looks translucent and when the sun rises, the colours knock you out! The lodges have been renovated back to their original colours and features, using native American artwork and patterns, and have rustic charm. Although similar, the room was so much nicer than that at the Grand Hotel at Grand Canyon (which is not grand at all). There was a balcony with 2 chairs and a table and a seating area inside the room. The room had a microwave and fridge but no television (who needs one here?) and no central heating. There is a roomy storage area with a wash-basin and large mirror outside the small bathroom, which has a shower over the bath and a heat and light bulb. There are pump dispensers for shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion which is better than trying to manage little bottles in a wire rack, the usual arrangement. We stayed in one of the two storey lodges, on the upper floor, and our room was very quiet and comfortable but there is no lift. The bedroom lighting was inadequate. There are rubbish/trash and recycling bins inside and outside but no guidance on what should be put where.
The main disadvantage is the poor signage and lighting. Unfortunately we arrived after dark, which was a big mistake as it is hard to find your way. We also missed the star-gazing talk. At check-in we were directed to the wrong building and then had to ask for soap and shower gel. There is central heating in the main buildings and there is a big log fire in the reception area but sadly the heat does not travel very far and we found the restaurant rather cool. Restaurant reviewed elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try not to arrive after dark; take a torch/flashlight. If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    425
    191
    81
    32
See reviews for
299
471
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My father, grandfather and I here for a night in a weekend trip to Bryce. We stayed in one of the cabins, and it was a lot of fun. We got in late after one of the star programs and highly enjoyed curling up by the gas fireplace before heading to bed. The best thing about this though is that you are in the park, which is great for taking an early morning stroll and seeing the sunrise over the canyon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our cabin at Bryce had a covered porch with a strong metal bench. Architecture heavy on logs and stonework lent a sturdy, frontier feeling. Our favorite place in the cabin was the little table situated in front of the blazing gas fireplace, where we drank coffee in the morning and basked in the warmth of the flames. This was no measly, sputtering sad excuse for a gas fireplace, but an honest-to-goodness blaze of leaping flames that cast genuine heat into the room. The interior was tiny, but cozy rather than claustrophobic. The bathroom was compartmentalized, in that we couldn’t open the door and sit on the toilet at the same time. There was a sink in the bathroom, and another sink in a dressing/vanity room adjacent to the bathroom. The shower had good water pressure and the water was plenty hot. Shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were dispensed from containers bolted to the shower stall. The cabins are a short walk from the main lodge, and close to the trail between Sunrise and Sunset Points. Parking around the cabins is limited and the spaces fill up early. Hike or use the shuttle if you don't have to drive.

We happened to be visiting on the day of a predetermined, county-wide power outage. Temperatures in the low 30s were forecast overnight, with no electricity available between midnight and 6 a.m. The hotel handed out fliers advising guests to crank up the heat before bed (to keep interior temps from plummeting in the near-freezing night hours) and suggesting we shower, etc. the night before as they couldn’t guarantee the hour that hot water would be available again the next morning. After forking over $199 (before fees and taxes) per night, we were unhappy Forever Resorts wasn't compensating their guests for this inconvenience. I’m not expecting earth-shattering bargains, but they could have knocked a few bucks off the bill or offered a modest, one-time meal discount in the dining room. Just saying. The hotel did provide us with light sticks, a small loaner flashlight, and a large battery-operated lantern (they provided batteries for both lantern and flashlight).

Our cell phones did not get a signal anywhere in Bryce except inside the main lodge, where WiFi is available to guests.

There was a locked door at the far end of our cabin that presumably opened into another cabin on the opposite end of our “duplex” building. Our neighbors shared some private moments in the afternoon, then we never heard another sound from them except water rushing through the pipes when they used the plumbing.

Room Tip: If you or companion(s) have mobility issues, request a cabin close to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night in May 2012. We had a reservation somewhere else, but this one had opened up, so we jumped on it. Like other places in the National Park system, you stay here because you cannot get better scenery anywhere else. You are right there in the morning when the sun comes up and in the evening when the sun goes down and away from the tour bus crowd. It was a cute, sweet, little cabin with a heater and a brick fire place because it gets below freezing 200 nights out of the year in Bryce, but not the night I was there. No television, although there was a radio. I had no interest in a television or WIFI so I cannot tell you where to find these things. I can say that there were deer right outside of our cabin when we came back from dinner. We ate at the restaurant in the main lodge. There was a slight wait time, less than 20 minutes. Bryce Canyon itself was amazing. Staying on-site really helps. It takes away the stress of having to drive out of the park and you can just take it easy or exert yourself on some of the amazing trails. I would stay here again on my next trip to Bryce.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dune acres indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Like all of the lodges in the National Park system, this one puts visitors right in the heart of the action.That's why we stay in them. Most, like Bryce, are rustic, comfy and efficiently managed by a vendor, in this case Forever Resorts. Overall, our stay was enjoyable, but there were difficulties: WIFI availability was limited to the lobby area and their server was not able to handle the heavy pre-dinner traffic; the dining room seated a tour group just when all the lodge guests were arriving for their evening meal. Waits exceeded an hour and neither the wait staff or the kitchen ever fully recovered. The manager was very respectful of our complaints and offered free deserts to assuage our ire. But management decisions like that call into question where their true focus lies, their lodge guests or the ever-present tour groups that are a constant detriment to the National Park experience.
That being said, our room was clean, roomy and nicely furnished. The balcony was a welcome addition. and we slept soundly after a day of hiking in the canyons. Our dinner the first night was superb, even memorable. Service was warm, well timed and personal. So, without the tour group incident the second evening, our experience would have been almost perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a cabin for 3 nights mid-October 2012. We have stayed in the cabins a number of times over the years, but the most recent visit was in 2007. First, we love this park, and the lodge and dining room are great. By staying in the park, you can have easy access to the rim and trails without using your car for a few days. That being said, the cabins need serious updating. The carpets look like they haven't been cleaned since our last visit in 2007 (they were nearly black). The sheets and blankets were very worn and shabby, although they seemed clean. This particular park operator states a strong commitment to the environment, but I didn't see anything that set them apart from anybody else. Lots of plastic and disposable items - compared with Zion National Park (run by another operator), they have a long way to go. One final gripe, the bathrooms had wallmounted dispensers for soap, lotion, shampoo, etc - however, they were so low that you were led to wonder whether there would be enough soap for your stay. When paying over $200/night, should that thought even be crossing my mind???

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A typical national park property: comfortable and clean. No TV. No Internet - except right in the main building lobby. Actually rather nice to get away from the world for a day or two...We missed the Ranger talk in the main building, but saw a lot of animals on the the trails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryce Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Lodge

Address: Bryce Canyon National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT 84717
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryce Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryce Canyon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Bryce Canyon, located near the rim of Bryce Canyon, is the only lodging in the Park and the perfect spot from which to launch your hoodoo and spires exploration. Couples, families and groups enjoy up-close access to the Park's rim trails and excursions plus front row seats to stunning sunrises and sunsets. Accommodations include 70 newly remodeled motel-style guest rooms(2 queens or 1 king bed) with refrigerators and microwaves; 40 cabins with gas log fireplaces. Complimentary Wi-Fi is located in the Lodge's lobby and at Valhalla Pizzaria. The historic dining room at the Lodge dates back to the original opening of the Lodge. We offer a varied menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Healthy gluten free and vegetarian options compliment the steaks, chops, pasta, fresh seafood and chicken selections. Our wine list features local Utah Micro-brews, domestic as well as international wine selections. Guests on the go can also grab a snack at the fast-food snack bar in the Park's General Store. Or, order to-go box lunches 24-hrs. in advance to take along on hiking and day-trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Bryce Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
Bryce Canyon Lodge Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryce Canyon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.