We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oops. Captain Hit a Channel Marker” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Chita Key

Boca Chita Key
Biscayne National Park, FL
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Key in Biscayne National Park offering nature hiking trails.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Oops. Captain Hit a Channel Marker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We took the boat trip out to Boca Chita Key. It was nice until on the return trip the captain hit a channel marker post which went down the starboard side of the boat and destroyed a ladder used for snorkeling and scuba diving. We were moving at a fairly high speed at the time. It was a close call. Lucky he didn't hit it straight on. As far as I am concerned, that makes the whole trip a bummer. The captain said the sun was in his eyes. OK. You have to really question the overall safety of the boat operation when something like this happens. If you try to book this trip ask them what they have done as a result of this incident to assure safety of future operations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Boca Chita key should be renamed Picnic Area Key because that’s all it is. Sure, there is the ocean all around, but I don’t know if I would pay to go out there again just to be around water. A fake lighthouse marks the key. The cruise itself wasn’t bad. The captain and assistants were nice and helpful. The same boat had both snorkelers and sightseers and I think the snorkelers had more fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I did both the lighthouse and snorkel tours. We didn't realize these tours were both on the same boat. The boat drops folks off at the lighthouse and then goes onto the snorkel sight. We almost lost our snorkel tour because the tour boat got in late. We enjoyed both tours but the same boat ride got boring quick. My recommendation is to check in for both tours for the 10 am boat ride, pack a lunch, pickup snorkel gear and pack your swimsuit. Do the lighthouse tour, eat a picnic lunch and chill at the island and change into your swimsuit and get on the 2nd boat tour and go snorkeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“A wonderful boat trip and beautiful island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went on the boat tour offered from the Biscayne National Park Visitor Center. There are two boat trips. The boat first goes to Boca Chita Key, drops off the Boca Chita visitors, and then goes out to the snorkeling site for a few hours, then returns to Boca Chita and then back to the Visitor Center. We chose to see Boca Chita. We toured the lighthouse, hiked around the island, then ate our picnic lunch we had brought with us. The picnic grounds are beautiful. There are restrooms and a small beach. The boat captain is outstanding, really informative and funny. There was light wind that day and several of the snorkelers told us on the way back they wished they had seen the island instead, as the snorkeling was not very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful... nature... quiet!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A great place to relax... get there on a boat... lots of mosquitos when I was there, but worthwhile visiting!!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Chita Key also viewed

Biscayne National Park, FL
 

Been to Boca Chita Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Chita Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.