We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pit Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Reifel Visitor Center

Ben Reifel Visitor Center
Cedar Pass "Badlands Loop Road" Hwy 240, Badlands National Park, SD
(605) 433-5361
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitor center with exhibits as well as nearby shop and restaurant facilities.
Missouri
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Pit Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a great visitors center to stop and get info on the park, use the facilities, and refill your water bottles! The staff was friendly, it was clean, and informative/educational. Worth the stop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
261 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Informative and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

They have great displays and models of ancient animals that live in the area. At the time they even had real fossils that we could look. They have info boards that explain the changing climate and the formation of the Badlands.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Visitors Center - Badlands”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Interesting exhibits and history about the Badlands. However, the park personnel and gift shop attendant were 'non-friendly' and did not offer any help. It was as if you were bothering them to ask a question.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice staff-- nice displays- nice bookstore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I visited the park (one week after the federal shutdown was lifted)-- and so we visited the visitor center this morning. It was our first visit.

VERY nice staff-- friendly, helpful. Gave us some good tips and ideas. The displays at the visitor center were very good as well, with a nice tabletop map, and a well-done series of displays on the history of the park-- including the Lakota perspectives.

The bookstore and gift shop was very good-- plenty of books about South Dakota, the badlands, the black hills-- as well as lots of nice little items you'd want to take home with you. Friendly and helpful sales clerk, and I disagree with the previous reviewer-- I didn't think it was small at all. Plenty of room, and well-merchandised, including a REALLY neat "retro" art print that I was sorely tempted to buy.

They had some nice artwork on the walls (from their artist-in-residence program) and clean restrooms (always a plus!)

Worth the stop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Gift shop closed for inventory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The center itself was open and all the displays were open as well. There's a room to view shows about the Badlands. We went there at the time that they were doing inventory so we couldn't buy any gifts or souvenirs. But at least it was still open, right before the shutdown.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Reifel Visitor Center also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 
Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Ben Reifel Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Reifel Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.