We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been a big fan of deserts but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badlands Wall

Badlands Wall
Badlands National Park, SD
605-433-5361
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A ridge that goes through the park, and is the site of incredible rock formations, which are being eroded, and therefore slowly change over time.
Mountains of NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Never been a big fan of deserts but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Badlands are well worth a visit. There IS beauty within the desert! Its is much larger than I expected and could not help but imagine how with a fifteen minute lead a man( or a gang) would just disappear within all the ever-changing "castles and mazes". Check you gas and do take bottled water.
The topographical changes in 40-mile panoramas and even the weather can change drastically as you go around the turns, As the signs say "Beware of Rattlesnakes".

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    74
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newark, delaware
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Interesting Hiking in the Badlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recently visited with grandkids aged 9 and 10. After reading reviews, we decided to do the Notch Trail. We enjoyed the drive and the vistas in the park on the way to the trail. We wore sneaks which were adequate. If it were wet, I think you'd need hiking boots. The trail started out easy, then we climbed a very tall wood and chain ladder (maybe 40 rungs). I thought the top of the ladder would be the end of the trail, but we were nowhere near the end. The trail continued along narrow paths over and across some ridges which took some scouting by the adults in our group. Some places were very narrow and the trail had loose dirt and gravel so you had to hug the wall. The hike ended at a notch which gave you a view over the Badlands. We and our kids really enjoyed our hike---for us it was challenging without being overwhelming. I wouldn't try it with kids younger than 9...the kids need to be able to pay attention and listen because you could have a nasty fall if they were not cautious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I've toured Badlands Nat. Park twice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The scenery is amazing.

You can actually do the entire tour without getting out of your car if you're not a hiker. And hiking is fairly limited. This is really not a hiking park.

Figure on at the minimum several hours, and preferably a whole day.

The restaurant in the park at the south end of the park is actually pretty decent.

To get there simply drive 7 miles due south from Wall.

Both times I've been there I've taken tons of pictures at a very high resolution and show them to people back in Georgia on a large high resolution monitor and they're just amazed at the beautiful scenery.

The prairie dogs (technically rodents) had the plague when I was there the last time, yet they won't let anyone shoot them. Thus the ferrets that dine on prairie dogs end up dying too. Whoever runs the place should allow hunters to wipe out the destructive prairie dog population. They're easy to find. Just look for areas with no grass.

In the western part of the park, wild Buffalos freely roam, and they can be extremely dangerous to you and your car, so stay away from them.

The soft rocks erode every time it rains, so the place changes appearance over time.

I highly recommend dropping by if you're near there on I-90. You can get there from various exits on I-90, but the main entrance is Exit 110, the main Wall exit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pictures won't do this justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited the Black Hills area and decided to head over to the Badlands figuring we'd spend an hour or so in the park. Not to be - we spent the better part of a day just driving the roads, taking pictures and being stunned by the everchanging beauty of this area. We were so glad we didn't miss this while in the general vicinity. The rock formations and colors are beautiful and enjoyed seeing the contrast between the prairies and Black Hills against this awesome backdrop. So glad we didn't let this gem slip by us while in South Dakota.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Striking and Unique Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have been to a number of National Parks with unbelievable scenery - Grand Canyon, Bryce, Zion, Yellowstone, Arches - and the Badlands scenery ranks right up there -- beautifully rugged, like no other place. There is a approx 50 mile loop that you can drive, with stopping points along the way to take pictures, as well as to walk closer to the scenery. Many of these are paved and very accessible. The hiking in the park, as some have mentioned, is very rugged, and only for those prepared with hiking boots, etc. It is definitely worth a day trip, especially coupled with the Minute Man National site that is nearby.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badlands Wall also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 
Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Badlands Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badlands Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.