We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have the time it is a recommended drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badlands Wall

Badlands Wall
Badlands National Park, SD
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A ridge that goes through the park, and is the site of incredible rock formations, which are being eroded, and therefore slowly change over time.
Saint Charles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you have the time it is a recommended drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The entrance to this area begins just South of Wall SD. If your heading to the Rapid City area this will take you there instead of I-90. To drive straight through is about 1 hour. But chances are you will want to (and should) stop along the way to take in the view.
Lots of wildlife here that will pretty much ignore you as you drive past them. So there will be plenty of opportunities to take pictures.
Once inside the park you will have a choice of the paved road or a gravel road that heads off in a different direction. I've been twice and I've ended up on the gravel road both times.
Both roads do eventually meet up (consult your favorite map or online map site for more details) and you can then continue to Rapid City.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    54
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London. Ont.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

When we visited the Badlands on our trip home, we were fortunate to see Mountain sheep right beside our car and a colony of prairie dogs which was one of the highlights of that area. We entered from the Wall entrance and are sorry we missed the Wall drug store.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Roaming buffalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We drove through here to see the Buffalo and were not disappointed. We got to see them up close and personal and were able to take many photographs. Also saw some deer, long horned mountain sheep and so many prairie dogs we couldn't count! The landscape is amazing and stretches for miles. A nice detour after driving through Wall and worth the $15 entrance fee and effort if you are in to nature.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Very Unusual Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Being from east of the Mississippi, nothing can prepare you for the first glimpe of this landscape. One of the things you must see. Every turn in every direction gives you something new to look at. Luckily the park service has made it easy to see this strange setting. This park is well worth the time.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We really enjoyed the park's loop road and the Ben Reifel Visitors Center. This was a 2 hour stop for usThe Visitor's Center is a great place to start your tour, as the dioramas and displays will give you a good overview of the park's geology so you can ooooh and aaaaah appropriately as you drive around. We saw lots of bighorn sheep and there are 1000 buffalo in the park. The rangers will tell you where to find them. We hope to return in warmer weather, stay overnight in the campground, and enjoy the hiking trails.!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badlands Wall also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 
Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Badlands Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badlands Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Badlands Wall to your Saves list