We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season Gorgeous with Snow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arches National Park

Arches National Park
PO Box 907, Arches National Park, UT 84532
(435) 719-2299
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$1,899*
and up
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Off Season Gorgeous with Snow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It snowed right before we got there and it made the red clay contrast just spectacular. The canyon was breath taking and we basically had the entire park to ourselves! Hiked around in just a fleece! Delicate Arch at the sunset isa must! Drove in from Vail for a days visit, totally worth it!! Sweet cravings for breakfast and Canyon Voyages for gear, Red T-shirt for unique Moab t-shirts!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,949
    525
    84
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful Nat. Parks there is. Travel there in the off season is wonderful. We were able to hike into Delicate Arch and only have two other people there. That is almost unheard off. It was a very enjoyable time with very few people to distract from the beauty of the park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Arches is terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a phenomenal park! If you don't want to hike, you can "see" the park in 2-3 hrs, fabulous geology, striking pillars, sculptured cliffs rising right out of the land, wonderful colors, It's a must see!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We did the famous Delicate Arch hike. We went first thing in the morning, and it's a good thing, because as we were coming down, we saw that the parking lot was full and people couldn't get in! If you go on this hike, do it early morning or late evening to find parking. It was a lot of fun, and my kids, 5 and 10, handled it well. Near the end of the hike there is a ledge you have to walk on, and so if you have a fear of heights this may be tough. It was hard on me (I'm afraid of heights), but I'm really glad I did it! Also, if you have kids that tend to run off, KEEP THEM CLOSE on this hike.

We went on a lot of other hikes, but I honestly can't remember the names of all of them.

We also went to the Sand Dune Arch, and that was very popular with the kids, and is FANTASTIC for families with young children. Nestled maybe 1/4 mile off the parking area is a sand pit surrounded by an arch and rock all over. It provides shade and is incredibly comfortable, even in the middle of the day in the summer. The kids HAD A blast there.

We only were able to go for one day, but it was great enough that we're planning to go again this year, but for 3 days. I definitely recommend it, and would suggest that you go for a few days to maximize your experience! The minimal entrance fee is good for 10 days or something, so you can take your time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful hiking, great views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

You can avoid the crowds and heat by going in spring, fall and winter. The hiking is marvelous and the views are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arches National Park also viewed

 

Been to Arches National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arches National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.