We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable place to spend the day playing on the beach or walking around.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Beach

Sand Beach
Sand Beach Road, Acadia National Park, ME
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable place to spend the day playing on the beach or walking around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It was very quiet when we visited and only a few guys surfing the cold waters meandering around the beach.we walked the beach, took pictures, found some sea shells in the water and sat on the rocks looking out at the water. Clean and has nice parking lot, changing rooms and a nice bathroom. Would be a nice place to take a family with children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    43
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Falls
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I love the beach so this was a must on my list. But this is unlike most beaches. The water is Freezing!!! I put my feet in and go the pins and needles feeling instantly. But there were people actually in the water! Brave souls! The beach has a great view like the rest of Acadia and there is a great trail if you cross the beach. Make sure to make this stop along Loop Road.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can be dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice little beach in Acadia but SO expensive to get in to and very little parking. But you got to love the beach in Maine

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice for a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We noticed sand beach when doing park loop and made time in our stay to come back to spend a few hours on the beach. We were here in July 2012, the water was very chilly however that does not stop the kids. They have restrooms and changing facilities here. Very nice way to spend the afternoon. Parking was difficult, get there early.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A great place to just relax and explore. Nice beach and a beautiful view when it's not foggy out. No hiking, but you can take a nice walk up and down the beach. It's also popular for surfing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Beach also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.