We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice for a few hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Beach

Sand Beach
Sand Beach Road, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
Attraction details
PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice for a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We noticed sand beach when doing park loop and made time in our stay to come back to spend a few hours on the beach. We were here in July 2012, the water was very chilly however that does not stop the kids. They have restrooms and changing facilities here. Very nice way to spend the afternoon. Parking was difficult, get there early.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    29
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A great place to just relax and explore. Nice beach and a beautiful view when it's not foggy out. No hiking, but you can take a nice walk up and down the beach. It's also popular for surfing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

this is a nice beach to go and catch some sun. it in acadia national park and the view is very nice. the water is cold, but the view is great

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great area to explore the cliffs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I am not one who likes sand so needless to say I was leary to spend time on Sand Beach. However, the cliffs on either side of the beach lend themselves to boundless exploration. This is where I spent most of my time during my 2 day stay at Acadia.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice location for a wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We didn't actually walk down to the beach this year because the parking lot was full. But we could see from the road that the waves were rough due to a storm out at sea. There were even surfers riding those waves. There are bathrooms and changing rooms for those brave enough to swim in the cold water. We haven't done that for a few years though.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Beach also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.