We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven Can Wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of Acadia Loop

Heart of Acadia Loop
Acadia National Park, ME
Improve this listing
Type: Trails
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Scenic 22-mile loop through Acadia National Park welcomes hikers, horseback riders and bikers along its scenic route.
Boston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heaven Can Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

One of the most scenic places in the world, at least my world. We spent a whole day on the loop road hiking, picnicking, viewing, and a little climbing. My girlfriend is a horticulturist and was thrilled to see things she had never seen before. The views from Cadillac Mountain were spectacular. We will go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR VIEWS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the most beautiful and scenic drive in the park. I would recommend that you not just drive it, though. Get out and breathe in the clean, fresh Maine air. It is worth a few steps onto the available trails, but don't wander off the established paths. The flora is delicate in this climate. It was marvelous.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Acadia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to the coast of Maine and the Acadia National Park was amazing! There isn't any words to explain the natural beauty of this place and pictures simply do not do it justice. We were in awe of the views from the top of the mountain along with the scenery as you drive around the loop. We suggest you get up early and head to the top of Cadillac mountain to avoid the crowds, then take a trip around Jordan's pond - find a parking spot along the roadway and then look for your own piece of paradise to enjoy the views from. Sandy beach gets overcrowded with families and believe me the water is freezing even in the middle of summer. Bar Harbor is pure touristville while Northeast Harbor and Southwest Harbor offer the same beauty but not the crowds. If you like shoulder to shoulder crowds then head into the main hub, If you are there for the lobster and beauty, head out to the other areas and hit the off road eateries - you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nature's Glory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Acadia National Park is full of breathtaking views and surprises. We took the audio car tour so we could explore at our leisure. The mountains combined with the bays and harbors provide some unique views and picture opportunities. The highest peak, Cadillac Mountain is easily accessible. The granite walls are beautiful and do not miss Sand Beach for a lovely stop at a perfect Maine beach. In the middle of the tour is a don't miss a stop at Jordan Pond, a lake formed by glaciers. There is a restaurant that specializes in popovers and has a full menu. It is not a typical park restaurant. It is quite elegant! The park has many trails and climbs which my husband and a friend did the next day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Another gorgeous US National Park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is indeed another one of the great US National Parks. However, what made this particularly enjoyable was the Fall weather (crisp, clear and cool) and the incredible colors of the Fall Foliage. We were even lucky enough to see a deer as we drove the loop.

This is a must-see National Park any time of the year and nobody should let the time of year (Fall or Winter) keep you from visiting. We spent one full day in the park and could have easily spent another if we had the time. We started our visit in the Visitor's Center and the Park Rangers were very helpful in assisting us with where to stop and hike, take pictures, etc....

We highly recommend this National Park to anyone who enjoys natural beauty and the great outdoors.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart of Acadia Loop also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Heart of Acadia Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of Acadia Loop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Heart of Acadia Loop to your Saves list