We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake with ammenities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echo Lake Beach

Echo Lake Beach
Acadia National Park, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake with ammenities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is one of my favorite spots on the island. There are bathrooms, changing rooms and a large sand beach. My son and husband love the Beach Cliffs trail which connects to Beach Mt. The water is good for swimming even in early fall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Most scenic family lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great for families! The water is a little cold and it can get crowded, but the view is unforgettable! It is absolutely superior. There is a wonderful hike above it and the beach and utilities are fair. Once again I truly recommend this to large parties!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I really enjoy this beach and try to go every year. The changing areas and bathrooms are clean and well maintained. There is a very short walk to the beach from the parking area. There is some grassy areas to sit, and then sand right up to the water. The water is very clear and clean. There was a lifeguard on duty while we were there. The swim area does not drop off quickly which is nice for children. Beautiful view!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ira, VT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Water much warmer to swim in than Sand Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was a great beach and the water much more "swim" friendly both in temperature and temperment.

Our girls much preferred swimming here than in the ocean and normally they don't care how cold the water is.

Loved the fact that there were flush toilets and seperate changing rooms.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic Clear Water Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We came to ME to escape the heat and wow, it was 90 degrees here in July, and very humid (average temperature is 67 degrees in July). Even on the water, it was warm. We found Echo Lake, and loved it. It is so scenic. This beach was very nice, though driving around the loop we found many other places to take a dip. Just follow the locals, they know other areas that are less frequented. On a hot day, and there are very few hot days in Maine, expect this area to be quite full. The lake temperature was nice, not too cold. It was clean and clear. The wildlife, many deer and other wildlife seem to know they are untouchable and sit around looking for handouts.
If you have time and energy, there is a lovely walking path surrounding the lake that is not too difficult to navigate

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echo Lake Beach also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Echo Lake Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echo Lake Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.