We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike, walk, ski or ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Roads

Carriage Roads
Acadia National Park, ME
Improve this listing
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Activities: Biking
Attraction details
HOlden, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bike, walk, ski or ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of the gems of this country. I am blessed to live nearby so I take advantage of fall and winter to ride and ski there. You can't find a better place in North America. Safe riding off the road for kids, elderly or just anyone. Trails all go past the most fabulous scenery on the east coast. Can't say enough about it. Just crowded with out-of-staters in the summer. OK, if you are from away!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    22
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We walk these carriage roads every year and never tire of them. They are well maintained and are easy to walk. Spend some time exploring the island on these roads. It is well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to experience Acadia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved the wonderful views and this amazing feature of the park. We took a bike ride which about killed us. We were not prepared for the difficult uphill climbs, but we still enjoyed the trip. Next time I would do a little more research about which trail I was taking so I wouldn't be unprepared for the ride. There is also an amazing history behind these roads which everyone who goes to Acadia should hear.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The carriage trails are a great place to take an easy walk in Acadia. No hiking, no climbing, just nice views and a peaceful stroll...just be care of horse business.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peacful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Take your time to enjoy the quiet nature around you. Well suited for strollers, bicycles, or just a quiet walk in the woods. Bring your camera.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage Roads also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Carriage Roads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage Roads, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.