We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Head Trail

Great Head Trail
Acadia National Park, ME
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking
Attraction Details
Newton Falls
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hike was a perfect one for us. It was a moderate trail in my frame of reference but I believe it is an "easy" trail for Acadia. There was one place were the climbing was a little nerve racking for someone who is afraid of edges and heights, but it was short and there were kids in flip flops doing it so.... I personally wouldn't take small children but there were kids on the trail. Tennis shoes are a must and a camera. I was very upset when I got to several places with amazing views without my camera. Cell phones just don't do it justice. There is also a spot on the trail where you can see the Beehive trail across in the distance. Its worth seeing the difficult trail and the tiny "ants" that are actually climbing it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

the great head trial is a nice trail to walk and you can exnd up at sand beach. again the view from the trail of the water and island is just great

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An easy walk with nice views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We haven't done this trail in a few years, but we used to enjoy it. We took a ranger-led tour one year and that was interesting. There are remains of an old tea house and great views of Sand Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The trail head is hard to find from Sand beach, but if you enter sand beach and keep walking to your left, you will find it. apparently there is also a parking lot? But we parked at sand beach. There were definitely some difficult parts, but nothing that any adult can't do. Not sure if I would take kids under 10. But overall, gorgeous views and if you climb down a bit after you reach the head, there are slippery rocks along the water and water crashes against the rocks. We were off the path but this was the best part of the hike. LIttle wading pools and mussels, a whole ecosystem going on. And the force of the waves against the rocks was amazing. BUT it was very slippery so be careful. we spent a while just hanging out and enjoying the crashing waves. It was awesome. ENJOY!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“outstanding scenery, poorly marked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

One of the greatest trails I have ever been on with spectacular views of Sand Beach, the marsh behind the beach, Otter Cliffs, the open ocean, and the interior mountains of Acadia.

What you need to know: Some early steep climbing to reach the height of the land. You have to be in somewhat decent shape to hike this trail. You can't just show up. Also, there are plenty of blue markers to help you stay on the trail, but which trail are you hiking? As an avid hiker I found this trail frustrating because the lack of markers indicating which trail you are on, and the distance of each loop trail.

Still, I highly recommend this trail.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Head Trail also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Great Head Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Head Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.