We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view at the top.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorham Mountain Trail

Gorham Mountain Trail
Acadia National Park, ME
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a view at the top.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We were freezing walking along the ocean trail so decided to cut in and take the Gorham Mountain Trail. It's rocky but easy on the way up. There were gorgeous views from several points toward the top. It was breathtaking and we enjoyed the scenery on a simply beautiful May morning. The trail back down was more of a challenge for us but we did okay considering we don't do a climbing hike very often. If its a clear day, go for it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hike is definitely worth it! It has beautiful views for not a whole lot of effort. We saw quite a few children doing the hike as well as some senior citizens. The only caution would be that if it is wet out, some of the rocks can be a bit slippery. We brought some food to enjoy at the top as we took in the view. The trail was very well marked. If you're looking to see some great views, but don't want to spend all day hiking on a difficult trail, this is the hike for you!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Moderate Hike, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Okay, I'm fudging a little on the views and basing it on other reviewers because we hiked Gorham Mountain on an extremely foggy morning. The hike was not too difficult (we are not experienced hikers by any means), but it did require a little bit of climbing and a little bit of muscle. It was really enjoyable though, and nice to get to the summit...even though we didn't have much of a view.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“top of the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

this is a nice walk and once on top you can see all over the east side of the island. the view on a clear day will blow you away

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Easy Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great hike for a family or someone that wants an easy to moderate hike with great views. You can add miles to the hike by starting near Otter Cliffs and coming down by Sand Beach. You have the option of adding The Bowl or Beehive. Beehive is very steep. Enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorham Mountain Trail also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Gorham Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorham Mountain Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.