We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive over from Bar Harbor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoodic Peninsula

Schoodic Peninsula
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
Forked River NJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Worth the drive over from Bar Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a remote section of Acadia National Park. It is a unique area with the black basalt rock formations within the pink granite. If you love rocks and geology, this is a great place to explore. (lot of tide pools too!) We went twice during our visit to Bar Harbor. It's about an hour drive to get to Winter Harbor. The 6 mile one way loop road is just beyond the town. Great local food at Chase's. If you have the extra time to get out to the peninsula, don't miss it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A natural gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Incredible scenery, perfect weather, excellent lobster, great hikes, peaceful getaway, can't wait to return!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Everything about it is wonderful: incredibly scenic drive, waiting for the amazing sunset while watching porpoises at the Schoodic point or seeing the waves crash on the rocks.
Great area for triathlon training or simply any of swimming, biking and running. Not crowded at all.
Magical trails (they seemed to come out of a fairy tale or a Miyazaki movie as my daughter pointed out).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“beautiful area of ANP, not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent the day on Schoodic Point, stopping and hiking at many different locations. The skies were overcast and it eventually rained, but the poor weather did not dampen my appreciation for the beauty of this place. There were few tourists, and I don't think the weather was the explanation - it's a distance from Mount Desert Island (and Deer Isle), and tourists don't seem to take the time to visit. It was one of my favorite days in the Acadia area!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and less populated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent 10 days in the Acadia area (after an overnight in the midcoast area and 3 nights in Lubec), staying in Bar Harbor and on Tunk Lake. During the latter half of the trip, we made the trip to Schoodic, as the tropical storm was making its way toward us. Schoodic is definitely the quiet part of Acadia. It's energy and images are surprisingly different from the MDI portion of the park. First, it's pretty flat, so don't come looking for mountain hikes. Second, you get some wave action and drama of the rocky coast, plus more tidal pools in those rocks worth exploring, which is what a lot of folks have in mind when they think of the Maine coast. I'm glad we took the time to see it. That said, if you've not been to Acadia before and you want to take advantage of its hiking opportunities, I'd recommend staying either on MDI or closer to it, and venturing over here by ferry or car. If you've explored MDI, or just want more solitude with views of the water and nature (and also good kayaking), don't miss Schoodic.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoodic Peninsula also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Schoodic Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoodic Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.