We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oceanfront. Incredible place to watch waves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoodic Peninsula

Schoodic Peninsula
Acadia National Park, ME
Improve this listing
Type: Neighborhoods, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Resort Communities
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful oceanfront. Incredible place to watch waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Much quieter and less traveled than most of Mount Desert Island. Great natural beauty, and amazing waves breaking on large rocks. Lots of places to hike. One of my children went to an environmental/science camp there for a week, and it was a truly life changing opportunity. Amazing resources.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I live in Maine for 34 yrs and walk the trails in Acadia 2 -3 times per week in the summer. How did we miss this beautiful gem!!! While there we hiked up a trail to Overlook...it is spectacular..afterwards, we sat by the ocean at Frazer's rest area and had a picnic. What Schoodic gives us is the closeness to the ocean that you don't get in Acadia. It is so pristine quiet and beautiful. No wonder artist likes it . The loop is easy to drive and walk around...no fees. There are many turnouts so one can enjoy views of the sea and rocks and if you like to explore this is great for families.
The weather was perfect even with a little wind. If you like climbing rocks by the ocean, this is the place. This is a gem of a place that is worth the drive and will be added to the list of our favorite places to visit in Maine. My one problem was ..we forgot our camera.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,130 reviews 1,130 reviews
774 attraction reviews
Reviews in 322 cities Reviews in 322 cities
874 helpful votes 874 helpful votes
“The "other Arcadia"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not as many people visit Schoodic Peninsular as it requires an hour ride out of Ellsworth to find the "other Arcadia National Park. It is well worth the trip, less crowded in high season and offers the same beauty as the Big Sister in Bar Harbor. Visit when the tide is coming as as the waves create some pretty impressive displays of power against the rock. look for out of the way places to have enjoy a seafood lunch..usually right on the water and less expensive. There is an RV park, a large public picnic area and plenty of places to pull over and take a picture. Hiking trails, of course, and lost of rocks to climb upon. Take a day and build some memories without the crowd.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldsboro, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The road less taken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Schoodic is 8 miles from Acadia National Park's tourist magnet on Mount Desert Island -- as the herring gull flies across Frenchman Bay. It's 45 miles (each way) by car from MDI. As a result, it's relatively deserted: 250,000 visitors a year versus almost 2 million for MDI. I live just down the road and go to Schoodic three or four times a month. The surf there can be phenomenal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
280 attraction reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
292 helpful votes 292 helpful votes
“Scootin' Around Schoodic !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On an overcast Sunday we did the drive around the Peninsula and were very impressed with both the drive and the views ! With no crowds it was just us and the elements and it was a leisurely way to spend the day. Better weather would have been a plus but the wind swept and craggy coves we visited were a highlight .The only downside was the signposting was a little bit deficient but that was probably the locals protecting their bit of paradise but overall while in the Acadia NP part of the world it is well worth the time and effort to do the drive !! Go and Enjoy !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoodic Peninsula also viewed

Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Acadia National Park, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Schoodic Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoodic Peninsula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;