We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly guides to help make the most of your day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia National Park's Visitors Center

Acadia National Park's Visitors Center
3 Break Neck Rd, Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME 04644
207-288-3338
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Center offering visitors an audio-visual presentation, maps, special events and the opportunity to talk to rangers.
richmond va
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“friendly guides to help make the most of your day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used the tour guide provided by a book and CD by Travelbrains. In addition to wonderful directions, we learned many new facts about the history of this wonderful National Park. If you like history, you would really enjoy this tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    89
    30
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breathtaking National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The day we visited Acadia National Park was a nice sunny day, a bit on the cool side which made it comfortable to explore. This park has beautiful sceneries that are just breathtaking. It is what you see in the movies or in pictures. My family and I were just in awed of this park. We got some great pictures and we would like to visit again, but spend more time hiking in the park. Cadillac Mountain had a great view of the ocean and the town of Bar Harbor. I strongly recommend this park as a must see attraction if you are into the beauty of the land and nature.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The park is as beautiful as any other national park across the country. The park rangers in the visitor center are very knowledgeable and helpful in deciding how to best see the park. We bought the CD for a reasonable price and used it to tour the park. Unfortunately the weather was not the best, but we were able to stop at many locations and "take in the view". I hope to return to the park in warmer and clearer weather.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
144 attraction reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Average displays, good merchandise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The center on top of the summit of Cadillac Mountain had an extensive selection of t's, mugs, etc including park posters. We also visited the one at Thunderhole (small) and Jordan Pond (medium sized). The main visitor center had a lot of good displays, but minimal shopping.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“foggy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

went to Acadia on a day that was so foggy you couldn't see past the rocks on shore. Like my host said, "now you know where the park is, next time you can come and see it". the drive around the shore was nice and we had a nice lunch in Bar Harbor. visitor center had a nice exhibit and film about the park.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acadia National Park's Visitors Center also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Acadia National Park's Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia National Park's Visitors Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.