We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Tide.....:(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Hole

Thunder Hole
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chasm surrounded by water and gardens.
Spencer, NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Low Tide.....:(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We hiked the park loop trail from sand beach and up to Thunder Hole. It was low tide and not too much Thunder, but the ranger was there and managed the gates. I hear folks get killed almost every year from going too far and getting swept away on the rocks. We turned out path and went up the Gorham mt trail and took the Cadillac Cliffs route....wow, that was strenuous. But I loved it. I'll go back again and maybe see the Thunder Hole at it's full glory. Acadia is beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenethumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The water hits the walls at crushing speeds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice place to stop along the Park Loop trail road. Part of the walk way was closed because of rainy weather conditions

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

And so much fun scrambling around on the rocks. Hearing the waves crashing against the rocks provides the enchantment of the sea. Could spend hours here. Never really got to hear the 'thunder' even though we were here at high tide. Perhap next time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeTeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The resounding crash of the waves against the rocks...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

...can only leave you awestruck. The force of the waves were so strong at one point that those visitors standing adjacent to this area received some of the backsplash. The site is easily reached by man-made staircase with a side railing and the background provides a wonderful backdrop for some nice pictures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Libralaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're on Mount Desert Island this is a must place to visit. It's especially good when the swells are between 6-8 feet b/c the effect is really neat. However, if the swells are above that, i.e., 8-10-12 feet please don't go down near the water as that could be dangerous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wrpupkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Hole also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Thunder Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing