We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Tide.....:(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Hole

Thunder Hole
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chasm surrounded by water and gardens.
Spencer, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Low Tide.....:(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We hiked the park loop trail from sand beach and up to Thunder Hole. It was low tide and not too much Thunder, but the ranger was there and managed the gates. I hear folks get killed almost every year from going too far and getting swept away on the rocks. We turned out path and went up the Gorham mt trail and took the Cadillac Cliffs route....wow, that was strenuous. But I loved it. I'll go back again and maybe see the Thunder Hole at it's full glory. Acadia is beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    77
    50
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The water hits the walls at crushing speeds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice place to stop along the Park Loop trail road. Part of the walk way was closed because of rainy weather conditions

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

And so much fun scrambling around on the rocks. Hearing the waves crashing against the rocks provides the enchantment of the sea. Could spend hours here. Never really got to hear the 'thunder' even though we were here at high tide. Perhap next time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The resounding crash of the waves against the rocks...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

...can only leave you awestruck. The force of the waves were so strong at one point that those visitors standing adjacent to this area received some of the backsplash. The site is easily reached by man-made staircase with a side railing and the background provides a wonderful backdrop for some nice pictures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're on Mount Desert Island this is a must place to visit. It's especially good when the swells are between 6-8 feet b/c the effect is really neat. However, if the swells are above that, i.e., 8-10-12 feet please don't go down near the water as that could be dangerous.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Hole also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Thunder Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunder Hole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.